Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Carrot Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I did make this, everyone liked it. I figured out that creamy salad dressing was Miracle Whip, I left out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Slow Cooker Puerto Rican Shredded Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Very tasty pork! Followed the recipe to a "T", and everyone enjoyed this. We used it for tacos tonight, and the leftovers will be used with rice and beans (like Chipotle's burrito bowls). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Erin

Fresh Fruit and Yogurt Ice Pops

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Delicious! I had some vanilla yogurt and some fruit in the fridge, both of which were going to spoil in the next couple of days if I didn't use them up, so this was the perfect recipe. It took me no time to mix them up and get them in the freezer. I had the banana out and ready to put in the recipe and forgot it - but they still tasted amazing. I am excited to try out different fruits. What a great summer treat to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I had a bottle of chardonnay from a trip to Maryland which I used. Of course since I opened the bottle, we had the rest of it to drink with dinner. Served this with baked potatoes and steamed asparagus. It was so good! I didn't change a thing. Hubby would comment every now and then thru dinner, "This is really good!" So glad I have some to take for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Pasta With Veggies In a Tahini and Yogurt Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great base sauce. After cooking vegetables, turned off the burner, stirred in the sauce and the al dente noodles and let sit for 5 minuets. Since there is only 2 of us, reduced the noodles to 6 oz, water to 1 cup, and used 6 oz container of greek yogurt. I will make again with more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe. I like how the cake balances out the sweetness of the frosting. The only thing was, I had waaay too much frosting left over. But, I could be the only one with this problem. And do be advised- This will knock out a serious sweet tooth! Overall, great recipe. ps I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cominograce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Braised Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Really enjoyed this cabbage! Left out the caraway and used honey instead of sugar. The wine really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Banana Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Wonderful! Used half honey and half brown sugar, and cut that back a little since our coconut was the sweetened kind. Finely chopped the whole almonds we had. Took about 40 minutes to bake up. Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Taco Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Yum! Perfect use for random frozen leftover French fries and taters tots. I used a combo of both and a mixture of leftover cheese. I topped mine with shredded lettuce, sour cream, and green onions. Black olives would be a nice garnish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by DinaLaChef

Banana Coffee Cake with Pecans

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was very tasty and my fiancée loved it with coffee as an afternoon snack. I made the following substitutions to cut back on the artificial sweeteners since baking anything with banana already has a sweet boost--used 3/4 cup regular white sugar in batter; light sour cream; 1 cup regular white and 1/2 cup whole wheat regular flour, and for topping 1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar. Also, for one cup mashed banana, I found that two small bananas filled out one cup exactly. I baked for 45 minutes and it came out browned a bit on top and moist on the inside. After tasting, I think it could use the additional 1/4 cup sugar and maybe an additional 1/4 cup sour cream. Though it was moist, I found the cake a bit heavy tasting, true "cake" taste and consistency. (I'm comparing it to the taste of fruit loaves, like banana and carrot nut breads--those are denser, but more rich with flavor of the fruits because they have a more equal ratio of fruit to flour). This coffee cake is a true coffee cake--a great gift for brunch, a light snack, and for a mini dessert treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Tiramisu

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I made this "mostly" as directed, however, after having first read MOST of the comments: 1) I used the 8x8 pan 2) My husband added 2 capfuls of rum 3) I did as suggested and BARELY DIPPED the lady fingers into the coffee. I mean I QUICKLY dipped only one side to prevent sogginess 4) I was worried about the egg/cheese/sugar mixture so I made sure I had cool whip on hand just in case. I ended up adding about 1/4 cup, just so that it wasn't so runny. But that's all I did. It was so absolutely perfect, my kids didn't believe I made it! Will DEFINITELY make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Muse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

Lettuce Leaf Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
For the Recipe Group April 2015...I made these with ground chicken, they were yummy and easy. I liked all of the veg in there. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Watergate Salad from DOLE®

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This is my husband's favorite salad that has to be made at every holiday gathering or family get together. This is my exact recipe I've been making for years--it's the perfect way to make Watergate Salad. Sometimes I swap walnuts for the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Found my new favourite Beef stew Recipe!!! I use to make the Betty Crocker recipe. But not anymore!!! The only thing I did different was I cut up leek instead of the onion and threw in a turnip instead of one of the potatoes. I halved the recipe for my family of 2 adults and 4 children age 5 and under.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3tocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
In the picture it has icing, but reading the recipe I did not think I would need any icing for it. I thought it was just ok, kind of similar to the taste of a brownie. If I made it again I would ice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
The best cookie recipe I've tried so far! I add a ton of walnuts, sometimes flax seeds or chia seeds, and chocolate chips. Soooo sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Sopt

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lutzflcat

Egg Salad with Chopped Gherkins

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Enjoyable lunch served inside a medium-size tomato with pulp scooped out. That little bit of dry mustard gives this a tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Pasta with Kielbasa and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This dish without the pasta was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

Hawaiian Pineapple Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Thank you for such a great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and would not change anything. What a great easy and quick dinner packed with flavor with an Asian flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wow! Sweet and Sour Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was one of the best Sweet & Sour recipes I have tried. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States