Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fast and Easy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I cut way back on the sugar, because that seemed like too much to me. As a result, I had to add more flour because the batter was too runny. The batter still was pretty thin, but the pancakes puffed up very nicely and were good. Everyone's taste is different, and I think I would enjoy these even more with no sugar. I might try subbing some whole wheat flour too. It's a good base recipe that you can modify to your family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.

Salsa Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
This soup was just ok to me. It came together very quickly which was great. I felt it needed more spice. It was a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Liz Dalton

One Pan Linguine with Asparagus and Bacon

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Loved it! A different combination of ingredients that really worked out well together. Great go-to recipe that you can really add any type of green veggie to and have a well-rounded, easy to make meal! Easiest linguine I've ever made. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Liz Dalton

Crazy Delicious Linguine with Peas and Bacon

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This was great! I was a bit unsure about this new cooking process but was so pleased with the results. So easy to make and I will now have this in my regular rotation. Lots of options to add to it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Liz Dalton

Salmon with Creamy Dill Sauce from Swanson®

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
First time trying Swanson Seafood Stock and I can't wait to cook more fish with it! It adds lots of flavor and kept the salmon juicy. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Liz Dalton

Roasted Asparagus with Lemon and Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Juicy asparagus thanks to being cooked in Swanson Veggie Broth! Goat cheese and lemon are perfect compliments. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Liz Dalton

Tuscan White Bean Soup from Swanson®

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This was pretty good. I think the Swanson Tuscan Chicken Flavor infused broth made the dish very tasty. I used ground turkey so I needed a flavor boost. Healty too! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Way too much seasoning mix. Might be ok if you cut back in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Sabo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz Dalton

Quinoa and Pepper Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This is my first time making Quinoa with Swanson Broth and I won't make it any other way from now on! Veggie broth added so much flavor to the Quinoa and the peppers and garlic are perfect with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

Cheesy One Pan Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Quick, easy, and cheese-y. What more could you ask for in a mac n cheese? This was super easy- The Barilla Pronto Pasta is a time-saver for sure. We'll make this delicious creamy mac n cheese recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
What a great summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Medieval Chicken Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
I was very excited to find this recipe! However, when I was making it, My hope for it began to fade, because, it looked really disgusting. When it came out of the oven and was sitting on the plate, my hope for it had all but disappeared. Then, I took a bit of the pie. Delicious! The flavors meld together perfectly. However, The presentation is definatly a bit... Medieval looking. But the the taste is worth it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Made these for a large crowd. Didn't really make any changes in recipe. Super easy to put together and I also liked the fact that I didn't have to use Cream of Soup mixture! It isn't my favorite enchilada recipe, but, it was great for a crowd. I actually made ahead in 9x13 pans and froze, unbaked. Everyone raved about how good they where!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Fritters

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
this was so good and easy to make thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Pactricia Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Photo by Noah Weisberg Sr

Easy One Pan Rotini with Pesto, Bacon and Peas

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
The dish was very easy to make and the recipe was very easy to follow. The pronto pasta is a great idea but in my case the instructions on the box had to be altered slightly to make it work. I had to add more water than the three cups they suggested which in turn meant that I had to drain more water from the pot. All of the water was not consumed during the cooking process. Also, and this is just a personal preference, I would add more pesto to the dish. I prefer my pasta to have more "sauce" so that I can have some for my garlic bread. All in all it is a very tasty dish and something, that with a few alterations, I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah Weisberg Sr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orford, New Hampshire, USA

Jessica's Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Delicious! I went ahead and threw the rice in but I like the presentation of Jessica's way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAWKS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Liberty Township, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bakes

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This is an excellent no bake recipe. I do have one issue, though. "Boil no more than 120 seconds." Reading through the reviews it is humorous to see the different opinions on slow boil to rolling boil, and timing from one minute to five minutes. These cookies are basically a boiled fudge with oatmeal added, and anyone who makes candy must take into consideration the weather. On a rainy or humid day, the boiling takes much longer to reach that "soft-ball stage." On a dry day, it might be ready in a minute. It is true the best test is to drop a drip of the boiling mixture in ice water and see if it holds together with the texture of soft caramel. If it spreads or melts into the water, keep boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

First Prize Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
What amount of strawberries are used in this recipe? I don't see them listed in the ingredients. I only rated 3 stars because of this. I have not yet made this recipe. If someone can tell me, I would greatly appreciate it so I can try to make this. Thank you. Uh... never mind. I found it. 2c. strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yashu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indian River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica Brown

Beef and Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This was an easy, tasty way to make beef soup! I used the carrot chips in a bag & frozen beans & peas. I used Umami Taste #5 in a tube for the tomato paste, it added a great punch! I also skipped the flour since Yukon Golds tend to thicken everything. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crookston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hannah, North Dakota, USA

Peach Pie with Sour Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
I don't have a food processor so I made the crust using the traditional method which was a little difficult. It didn't come together in a ball until I added a bit of water, then I could pull it into a ball with my hands. The taste of the crust is nice, almost like a shortbread, (must be due to the sour cream) even my husband commented that he liked it. I read all of the reviews before making this pie. The reviews nearly scared me off from even trying it. All I can say is, this has a custard-type base, it will be a bit jiggly in the oven, but it will set up as it cools. Not into a firm solid, but a soft, creamy filling (that holds it's shape) surrounded by peaches. Afterall, it is a peaches and cream pie! That being said, I did bake it for some additional minutes (maybe 20) to be sure it would set. The taste of the filling is great! I wasn't sure what to expect with the addition of sour cream, but it was soooooo good! My pie looks just like the featured picture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States