Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sylvia's Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was the first time I've really made ribs and this recipe didn't let me down! The only thing I changed was I didn't add the steak sauce since I don't like it. The ribs were tender and flavorful. Will make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfox12082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Blender Woman

Country Seed Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I bought a bread machine about 2 months ago and this bread may be the best wheat bread I have tried so far taste wise. My only change, when adding the ingredients to the machine, were using 1 tablespoon of flax meal and 2 tablespoons of roasted unsalted sunflower seeds for the flax seeds. I just don't care for flax seeds. I also used Gold Medal's white whole wheat flour. Note: I noticed this was not enough dough to make a loaf of bread in my 2lb Zojirushi bread machine. It has a rectangle pan and makes standard loaves only. I suggest, if this is the type of bread maker available, to double the recipe or bake in the oven. As it was too late to double the recipe, I took the dough out after the 2nd rise and right before it started the baking cycle in the machine. I lined a baking sheet with parchment, sprayed it with PAM, and lightly sprinkled a circle of cornmeal on it. I gently placed the dough in a circle. It did deflate some, so I lightly sprayed it with olive oil and covered with plastic wrap. I let it rise about 25 minutes more while preheating the oven to 375. It had a nice rounded dome shape by that point. I baked it 25 minutes, let it cool 7-8 minutes on the pan, and then transferred to a cooling rack. Had one warm slice to see if it baked up and it is delicious. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Ginger-Peach Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I just finished my first batch of this incredible jam. I say my first batch because I still have many more peaches to preserve and because it's sooooo good...there will be more batches in my future. Michigan peaches are just ready to harvest...nothing better. Try this tasty treat, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My first time making asparagus at home and I definitely picked a great recipe to try for it! Flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

Seven Layer Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I've been eating/making these bars all of my life, they are a standard food in the upper midwest (I'm from Wisconsin). This is the standard recipe that my family has been making for probably 40 years. If it's easier you can also melt the butter in the microwave and mix the crumbs in and then spread them in the pan. It's faster but it creates extra dishes. They are also really great if you substitute the toppings. For example substitute peanut butter chips for the butterscotch to make chocolate peanut butter bars, or andes mint chips in the winter to make mint chocolate coconut bars. It's a very customizable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Van Grinsven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Remove the 'Y' bones from a Northern Pike and have at it! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Watermelon Sangria

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe as per the directions it was too much for my taste. I then made over the recipe and I used 6 cups of blended watermelon, 12oz if sprite, I used Moscato instead of the Zinfandel. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked_Game

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Palestine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies I

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is my old standby recipe for no bakes, except mine calls for 2 c. sugar. I always wait for the ingredients to come to a full boil, then cook them for exactly one minute. Mine always set up perfectly. These are best with crunchy peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan'sCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Vegan Italian Sausage Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is a great recipe. Super for any kind of red sauce needed. I would caution those timid on spice to watch how much red pepper they use. I love it as is, but could also cut back half the red pepper and it would still be spicy. So maybe adjust slowly to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Country Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Thought that we would really like this, but we did not. Ended up throwing most of it away. Sorry. Hate to give bad reviews, but this was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
reduced mayo, but with that change it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
reduced mayo, but with that change it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Fast, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sctaylor25
Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
OMG! I never thought of using Burrata this way! I usually just scoff it down, slowly of course. This cheese is a bit hard to find and not likely at your local grocery but if you have a Fresh Market or cheese shop near by you should be O.K. It's definitely worth the search and farm fresh tomatoes are mandatory! (In a pinch, fresh mozzarella will work but not as wonderful to eat.) Chef John has done it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made according to recipe except added an extra half cup of raisins. Great texture and beautiful appearance. Just too much cloves for me. I am softening another half cup of butter on the counter to make another batch and cut the cloves to one quarter teaspoon. I am a personal chef and my son's teacher wanted me to make him some oatmeal raisin cookies. I just can't send this first batch to school with my son. The overpowering cloves made me cough. I believe with that small modification this will make a very delightful oatmeal raisin cookie. I think the amount of cloves is just a matter of personal preference. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Squash Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This bread turned out very well. I did make a few changes, which I think helped with the flavor. I only used 1 1/2 c sugar because I added a brown sugar and cinnamon topping. I added an extra tsp of vanilla. I only used 1/4 t nutmeg, due to personal preference. Also, I added golden raisins and walnuts. It was very yummy and DH and DD loved it. When I make this again, I will add some salt and will probably use 3 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg. I used an 8X4 bread pan and 2 mini loaf pans. The mini loafs were done at 50 min and the 8X4 loaf was done at 60 min. Overall, a nice basic quick bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Delicious Chicken Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I cut my chicken into cubes and let in marinate over night. I stir fry the entire mixture! It's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by AFGRANDMA

Lemon Zucchini Texas Sheet Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
when i made this I used 3 1/2 cups powder sugar instead of the 4 1/2 advised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFGRANDMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson

Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
We loved it. But I made some modifications so 5 stars with the changes. I used a bit more Green curry paste and added some onion, Serrano chili, garlic, Cilantro & Thai basil. We like it hot and I love the fresh herbs which I have in my garden, so I just had to use them. Great base recipe and will be using this one again. Tasted just like I used to get at my favorite Thai Restaurant in Los Angeles area. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Navy Bean Soup I

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My family loved this! I did make a few changes because of what I had on hand. I used northern beans instead of the navy, used chopped carrots in place of celery but added about 2 tsp of celery seed, and took others advice and used chicken broth in place of water and boullion (sp?). Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States