Midwestern USA - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Molly

Chocolate Bundt® Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I had a chocolate cake mix I was needing to use when I came across this recipe. DH is the chocolate cake eater in our house and he thought it was just ok. A lot of good ingredients in this, but it just didn't wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Molly

Orange's Famous Oatmeal Scotchies!

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
A tasty cookie we really enjoyed. I followed the ingredients and directions, as directed. The only change was, mine were in the fridge all day as I mixed them up in the morning and baked them in the evening. They held their shape and were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Just how a cookie should be, in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Double Chocolate Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly. It turned out very creamy and had a nice cheesecake flavor, but double chocolate it is not. If you want a true chocolate cheesecake look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noz100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Rating this as a "let's try again". I accidentally messed up the recipe and put in a TABLESPOON of dill instead of a teaspoon, so it was hard to eat. I think it was too heavy on the mayonnaise and I missed the crunch of celery, so next time I will be adding some in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linguini with Roasted Vegetables and al fresco Italian Style Chicken Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I altered this recipe a bit by using spinach instead of asparagus and I made my own spicy turkey meatballs. I forgot to save some of the pasta water, so I placed a few noodles in a pan with water and heated it up hoping to extract some of the starch needed for the sauce. It worked fine. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj

Cheesy Bacon Jalapeno Skillet Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Great recipe! Loved the flavors. Used AP flour instead of gluten-free. Subbed one of the jalapenos for sweet red pepper and used cheddar cheese instead of pepper jack. This is not a very sweet cornbread, which is a nice change from what I am used to making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Monkey Bread | The Pioneer Woman Cooks | Ree Drummond

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Try using less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Asparagus Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This recipe is a keeper! I am completely impressed by the full rich flavor of this soup. I used regular milk instead of soy. I've been on a quest to try all sorts of of new meals for my family and this was a hit. I served with Parmesan Cheese and a side of fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Polish Egg Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was great ! It toasted up nicely and froze well. This makes a HUGE amount of dough. I hade to bend my loaf just to fit it on the cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Chicken Piccata II

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly. Next time we'll cut the chicken into thin strips and make it that way. We used chicken breasts and the parts with the coating were delicious, but most of the chicken missed out on the flavoring of the lemon juice, so we're thinking of making the chicken smaller next time so it absorbs more flavor. Overall, it was an okay dish, but it didn't have really strong flavors (which I've come to expect from recipes on this site). The flavors are more subtle in this one, but still good and yummy. I'll be adding this to our list of meals and most likely tweak it a bit in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ciabatta

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was Delicious! It was chewy, crusty ,and had a slightly sour taste. It was the perfect Ciabatta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Cheesy Potato and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
yumming.. great for a cold night with this hardy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Style Chicken Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was a really fun and delicious lunch! I omitted the soy and added smoked paprika, garlic, and pepper. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Old Fashioned Potato Kugel

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was good, but it a little greasy. It also had little bit of a weird flavor. However. It does have potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

How to Make Perfect Polenta

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is great! It is amazing with Chef John's Pork Al Latte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Smooth Double Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Wow. This is quite possibly the perfect chocolate frosting. My Father asked if he could have just a bowl of this stuff for his birthday! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Holiday Dressing

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is really very good. Simple and wholesome, This was the perfect traditional Thanksgiving stuffing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Chef John's Pork al Latte

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is the best meal I have ever made. Followed the directions to a T. Chef John, You are my hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Mark's English Sausage Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Mmmm, These little babies are amazing! The dijon really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Never Fail Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
These are awesome! I followed one reviewers suggestion and rolled them out twice as thin then doubled up the layers. Flaky, golden and delicious! Perfect for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States