Minnesota - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by ONIOND

Sour Cream Pork Chop and Vidalia® Onion Gravy

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Recipe Group: Very good sauce! I would say sauce, it's not quite thick enough to be a gravy, but super yummy for all that. I overdid my pork a bit, didn't time it but just waited until the onions were cooked through and then added the sour cream. Next time I might saute the onions a bit before pouring on the sauce, because I love Vidalias with a lil caramelized action. Thanks for the recipe, sirrahmichelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Coriander and Cumin Rubbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I like a little coriander, but this recipe calls for A LOT of coriander, and it turns out I don't like it THAT much. So the second time I made this I substituted equal parts garam masala and curry powder for the coriander, and it was absolutely wonderful. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Food Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
A friend of mine made these and we had them at her house. They were so delicious I had to make them myself. I used all coconut sugar and pecans instead of walnuts. I must admit I am a cookie dough lover more than a cookie lover and this dough is amazing! The Chia seeds and cacao nibs give a little crunch that is soooo good! These are just as good baked, too. I love that we get a little more nutrition while getting our cookie fix :). I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oma's Rhubarb Cake

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Super moist. More like a coffee cake than regular cake, but the best coffee cake I've ever had. Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crunchy Eggplant Parmesan

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I followed the suggestions of others of tossing uncooked eggplant slices in flour, then dipping in egg, then into breadcrumbs. I also made extra and just parcooked them until slightly browned, let cool, then put into the freezer on the baking sheets and into a freezer bag once frozen. Now I can just bake them up the next time we want them. I also didn't bake them with the sauce. I just kept the broiler on and melted some parmesean on each slice, plated them and topped with hot tomato sauce. This way they stayed super crunchy. My husband who supposedly hates eggplant parm ate two servings. Whoot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Coconut Pecan Muffins

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Yum, I love that they aren't overly sweet! The only change I made was to use coconut extract instead of vanilla. I left the banana chunkier as suggested. I used my medium scoop (about 2 TBSP) and ended up with 19 nice sized muffins; will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Chicken Salad

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I used some garlic kettle cooked chips for something extra and it was delicious! I also substituted red bell pepper for the pimento. will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi_M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RockstarSue

Never Fail Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
These cookies were perfect!! They were extremely easy to make. I loved the fact that they were not overly sweet like some chocolate chip cookies that I have made in the past. They were also the perfect texture; not too soft or crunchy-just perfect. I did not have any unsalted butter on hand (which is what I always use for baking), so I simply omitted the salt. Other than omitting the salt, I followed the recipe 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Tzatziki Sauce with Dill

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I added 1 TBSP orange blossom honey and half a lemon squeezed along with 2 TBSP Tahini sauce. It tasted amazing!! Thanks for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

Pasta Fagioli

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I loved this soup! It was very flavorful and quite healthy! The only changes I made was to add 1/8 cup fresh basil, sub 1 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes because I didn't have any, used a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 8 oz can and added 1/2 can of water since I like my soup not quite as thick. My family loved it, just the right amount of spice, even for my 14 month old granddaughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Ihnen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowry, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Fagioli

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I loved this soup! It was very flavorful and quite healthy! The only changes I made was to add 1/8 cup fresh basil, sub 1 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes because I didn't have any, used a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 8 oz can and added 1/2 can of water since I like my soup not quite as thick. My family loved it, just the right amount of spice, even for my 14 month old granddaughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Ihnen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowry, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Glenwood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I'm sorry I didn't follow the recipe but only because I forgot to write it down and so I made it from memory of what I read. So I forgot the bacon and used kale rather than spinach and measured the other ingredients by eye. I did add Italian seasoning, black pepper and some kosher salt to taste. This soup I'm going to label amazingly delicious and super addictive (even though I missed the bacon). After eating nearly the whole pot myself two days ago I plan on making it again tomorrow even if it is 88 degrees out. Thank you this is so much better than the restaurant's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RockstarSue

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Excellent recipe and quite easy. It is rich, chocolaty and decadent. I just should have waited to cut it! My picture does not do it justice, because I cut it right away. The end result was still fabulous. This will now be my permanent brownie recipe. Next time I will serve with vanilla bean ice cream on top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Bellepepper's Orzo and Wild Rice Salad

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
i liked this salad despite the mistake i made. i accidentally opened a can of artichokes instead of a can of wild rice. i added it anyway. i like to review these recipes as written; i think that is only fair to the author. i originally thought it was a little sweet, but after sitting overnite the flavor was much better. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ONIOND

Super Seven Spinach Salad

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Delicious and super easy. I had a little extra, so I took it to work the next day not expecting much but it retained crispness and the apple hadn't browned (gotta love Fujis!). I did sub green onion for red for our taste preference, and I forgot to get almonds at the store so left them off too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made three of these for a Monday morning meeting. It was the day after Mother's Day and many of those attending had just had a rhubarb dessert over the weekend. Many of the people said that this pie was better than what they had for Mother's Day. It's a very simple and basic pie recipe with a really clean taste of the fruit. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I particularly liked the shiny glaze of the jelly. I'll be making it again as long as my friends keep providing me with fresh rhubarb. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chilled Avocado Soup

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Absolutely delicious. A good way to use up over-ripe avocados. Be careful of salt if there is salt in the broth you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Lemon Cream Cake

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Very light and refreshing. I added some raspberry jam under the cream but I think strawberries would be better. If you want more lemon zing, add some juice to the cake batter or just make lemon cake. The filling is just Devine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
The 40 minute minimum baking time was was too long and I over baked them. The part of the finished product that was edible tasted great. I'll make them again, but watch the baking time a lot closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chicken Salad Sandwich

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Great recipe! Made this for a large group and they loved it. I left out the apples and grapes and added red onion, a little cayenne powder and some horseradish! Makes a great snack on crackers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Alphs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kiester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States