Indianapolis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I have tried this recipe at a potluck it was amazing. I am making it right now and forgot to boil my sugar water mix... ugh! I hope it comes out okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Bonanno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coriander Chicken with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Oh my goodness! This was heavenly! I took some liberties with the recipe...based on some reviews and my own tastes, but what a divine combination. I used a white fish as the author suggested. I didn't have an orange, but substituted a yellow pepper. Then I jazzed up the spices with garlic powder, ginger, and a dash of cayenne. To the salsa I added lime juice and soy sauce. I also served everything over coconut rice cooked with tumeric. This was beautiful and so delicious. Going to make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I've made this many times. Both following the recipe and making changes. It's wonderful! For example tonight I didn't have plum tomatoes so I used regular diced tomatoes. I didn't have heavy cream so I used half-and-half and I didn't have link sausage so I used bulk Sage Tennessee Pride. It was still wonderful and unbelievably quick and easy. One of my all-time favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Buchanan Calkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This recipe is the very reason my husband always wants to grow jalapenos in our garden each year. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This is such a quick and easy side dish for pitch-ins. Normally, I leave out the green bell pepper and sub cucumbers because hubby hates them. Also adding halved cherry tomatoes is a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This is a good base recipe that you can throw pretty much any veggies (or cold meat) in your fridge. I didn't have a bread, so used 2/3 cup of breadcrumbs instead, worked fine. I agree with some reviewer that serving this with sour cream on top would be wonderful :) Also I used 8x11 casserole dish (didn't have enough portion for 9x13 perhaps because I didn't use a real bread?), and served with mini-salad and fruits together with 1/6 cut portion of egg casserole. Winner breakfast/brunch recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
This is so good! However I made a few tweaks, I like more pudding in mine so I did 3 packs of pudding and only 1/2 tub of extra creamy cool whip. Instead of making the chocolate topping with cocoa powder, I made a ganache using 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and 1 cup heavy cream (just put the chips in a bowl, bring the cream to a boil and pour over the chips, stir and let it melt them, stir again to make smooth and pour over top of the cake. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Dyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly. Then I let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. Then I tasted it. Then I doubled the cumin and cayenne pepper and tripled the garlic. I like it much more now! And for those of you searching for tahini.... have you ever tasted it? I make a lot of hummus. I quit worring about it and started using peanut butter. Same taste. Less $ and always in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Buchanan Calkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft and Fluffy One-Hour Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I prefer a different consistency than these turned out. They did turn out beautifully though, and they were super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Creamsicle Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
These are okay. The first batch I made was a bit dry and they didn't spread, and the chips didn't melt really. Marlo seemed to really like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang Avers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Allouette Cheese Spread Knock-off

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
A great Knock-Off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA

Greyer & Emmentaller Cheese Fondue

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
The cheese is "Pricey" but the fondue is so-o-o-o good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA

Hoppin' John

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
A New Year's Day classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA

Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Great Breakfast . . . with Veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. E. Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rineyville, Kentucky, USA

Oven Chicken and Linguini

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
My son's girlfriend made this with boneless, skinless chicken breasts and used fresh spinach and fresh basil and served it over quinoa instead of the noodles. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I'm not sure what went wrong here - I made this recipe as written, except I substituted some corn and tomatoes for the tempeh. Even using 8 tortillas instead of the 6, there was no way this would fill a 9x11 pan. Maybe an 8x8. I didn't even use the whole can of enchilada sauce, and the ingredients were swimming. After I pulled the "casserole" out of the oven, we decided it would almost be better to use it as a dip, since it was so gooey. Also the onions would have been better if they were precooked; they were still a little on the crunchy side. I used extra spices and my husband liked the flavor, but it wasn't exactly filling enough to be considered a full meal for everyone. Maybe another can of beans is called would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Ice Cream

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
We used this with Haitian Vanilla in our Yaylabs Ice Cream Ball. It was great. Easy to mix up and keep in a mason jar for a bit or pour into the ice cream ball and transport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Love this recipe! Followed the original recipe mostly, except I added two quartered lemon pieces inside together with garlic and I didn't prep chicken for over night. It turned out excellent!! The skin was so crispy yummy, and the inside was juicy with plenty of garlic lemon aroma. At first, I was concerned about the cooking temperature being a bit higher (500/450 for 15 min each) than the typical whole chicken cooking, but it did help the skin be so crispy and full of flavor. Also basting is important as it helps prevent the skin being overcooked and dry (I used a brush to baste), and adds more flavor throughout the entire cooking time. I didn't need to double the amount of spice, it was plenty for my whole chicken. This roasted chicken recipe is my go-to roast chicken recipe now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Glazed Pork Roast

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Sadly, I did not originally mention to chop or dice the pepper and onion. That's been edited in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Hughey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This is the bomb! I did make changes as suggested by Dale's review, and before I even finished it, I was "tasting" a little too much! Changes made: For dressing, mixed Miracle Whip lite with 1/2 Tblsp white wine vinegar, 2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp Lawrys seasoning salt,2 Tblsp Famous Daves spicy relish, 1 Tblsp dijon mustard, 2 t salt, 1 tsp black pepper and a sprinkling each of dill weed and garlic powder. I reduced celery to 1 stalk and whirled the peppers and celery in the food processor (my family doesn't care for the texture of big chunks). Next time, I may also add about 1-2 tsp of dry ranch dip mix (we like very flavorful food!). I boiled 2 extra eggs to slice as garnish for the top and sprinkled paprika over the whole lot. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Joslyn for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States