Peoria, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pork Roast With The World's Best Pork Loin Rub

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Tried this for the first time tonight for dinner. WOW everyone loved it. I loved it and from the response of my guests thisgets an A+. I have plenty of rub left. I ccan't wait to try it on the grille!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
BRISKET SHOWDOWN! Wine-Braised Beef Brisket vs. Nana Lara's Brisket (both 5 star ratings but which did we like better?) Both turned out tender. Flavor wise - Nana Lara's is the winner in our family. The rub makes a huge difference which encrusts the brisket and gives it a slightly more tender edge. The soy/pineapple combo brings a yummy flavor. For this wine-braised recipe the tomato/wine flavor didn't really permeate into the flavor of the meat. So if you prefer a less sweet brisket, you'd probably like this one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana Lara's Brisket

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
BRISKET SHOWDOWN! Nana Lara's Brisket vs. Wine-Braised Beef Brisket (both 5 star ratings but which did we like better?) Used the cooking method from this recipe for both briskets. Both were tender. Flavor wise - Nana Lara's is the winner in our family. The rub makes a huge difference which encrusts the brisket. The soy/pineapple combo brings a yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Kiss Peanut Butter Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly but just didn't care for it at all. The texture is just odd and the flavour just wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Pie XIV

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Such an easy pie to make and so tasty! I used creamy peanut butter instead of chunky and I completely omitted the hot fudge as I don't care for it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Seven Layer Vegetable Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made it the night before and loved the crunch of the iceberg lettuce, cauliflower and celery. Since the mayo seals in the crispness of the veggies - it's a good make-ahead recipe. Instead of the green bell pepper used the sweeter red bell pepper (family preference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Fish with Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I've made this 7 times using different fish and will keep this recipe forever. Definitely add extra seasoning to the fish and sauce (old bay, garlic powder, onion powder). The sauce is good with roasted asparagus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fiesta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I liked this ok. The fakey flavor of the mexicorn threw it off a little for me, and it really needed something creamy to blend it together. My second try I mixed sour cream and salsa together as the dressing, but it was still missing something. I also think my choice of greens was unfortunate for this recipe. I used a mixed green blend with a lot of peppery arugula, and I think it overpowered everything else. I would add cheese and some crumbled tortilla chips. I might try this again with some milder greens and without the canned mexicorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs II

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Family taste test - red sauce (grape & chili sauce) vs. your white sauce. Hands down, your white sauce WINS!! Leave the heavy red sauce to the cocktail wieners ... or ... maybe not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! My kids loved that Mom was making "zucchini pancakes!" I didn't have any problem with the moisture and didn't drain it at all. I did add a bit of garlic powder, some parsley, black pepper, and some Italian seasoning and they were SCRUMPTIOUS!! I enjoyed eating them all by themselves, but I bet they would be great with marinara sauce, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is a great and simple recipe! I would recommend melting the butter in a microwave and adding the cocoa to the melted butter first before mixing in the other ingredients. My family loved it, and I agree with or he reviewers, I will never buy a box brownie mix ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken with Peach Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Refreshingly sweet. Definitely a keeper. While ckn hot off the grill, spooned a little more sauce and sprinkled with salt. The salty/sweet was addicting and the ckn was scarfed down. I over grilled my peaches and they came out mushy - so follow the directions Sunnyday ... hello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham Potato Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made a half batch of this for dinner last night and it was more than enough for my family. I have small children who are small eaters. I reduced the amount of onion by half and it was plenty, maybe even still too much. I also snuck in some steamed cauliflower, minced small, and no one noticed it was there. You could probably replace a quarter or more of the potatoes with cooked cauliflower because the color and texture are the same as the potatoes. I would be careful of the salt in this dish. I salted pretty heavily for the potatoes and had almost too much because of the salty ham. The amount of butter seemed high so I used about half in the potatoes and saved some aside to toss with crushed corn flakes and some more cheese to make a crumbly topping. I still felt like it was a little oily. I think I will leave the butter out next time and see if I miss it. My family liked this pretty well and my picky 5 year old finished her plate, so that's good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mel's Crab Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was swell-Mel! Simple ingredients and no fuss. I used 2 forks to shred the fish ... I mean crab. Everyone commented how good it was and I just smiled because it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Hummus

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This turned out great! I added an extra clove of garlic just because we are garlic-crazy, and it tastes great. I always use fresh squeezed lemon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWMNJEDI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Onions and Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Hubby gives this a "4"; however, I did not care for it. Thanks for the recipe Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I was in the middle of loading my crockpot and realized I didn't have a packet of onion soup mix. Very glad I found this recipe! I was able to pull it together--My crockpot dinner turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
My family loved this recipe and I am PICKY! The only thing I did differently is that I used Great Value brand white corn and black bean salsa! It was amazing. The only thing I would do differently is that since my salsa is only available in mild (from what I've seen) so I would use a packet of HOT chili seasoning, because I prefer a little more kick to my chili. Thank you for the recipe! We will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
we loved it! The only changes I would suggest is to make sure you use a DEEP DISH pie crust, or use less veggies so everything will fit inside. The crust got a perfect golden brown about half way through, so we covered it with foil until it finished cooking. We used canned chicken instead and I recommend not cooking the chicken with veggies first, because the chicken pieces didn't stay together. Just for reference, 1/2c celery is close to 3 stalks. Thanks for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

Savory Crescent Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have been making this for years, but it is starting to fall out of favor with my family. It's pretty bland and good for the kids, but for more "grown up" food, I would think you might need to add a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States