Peoria, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND®

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
One of my favorite ever desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Frikin' Party Dip Ever!

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
A Half batch of this was plenty for my small party (8 adults), any more and I would have had leftovers for weeks. I thought it needed just a little more oomph, so I added about 4 oz. Velveeta, but I think cheddar cheese would have been tastier. Served from a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pickles

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Love these things, they remind me of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was really good. Due to my schedule, I wanted to make this during the weekday so I put it in the crock pot. I'm sure I missed some lovely texture from cooking this in the oven, but the crock pot worked great. I also have a small family and don't need tons of leftovers, so I made a half batch of this by buying a full size pork roast and cutting in half. Since I was cooking in the crock pot, I didn't drain the chilies, but I may next time because it was plenty wet just from the juice of the pork. My dish needed a little more salt than called for but that is probably due to the cooking method and easily fixed by salting to taste before serving. The flavor was really great and my husband and kids all loved it, but I prefer a little more spice. If you like spicy food, maybe add a little kick to it after shredding to your taste. If you do the crock pot method and you have a little time after cooking, I would suggest throwing the shredded pork in a hot cast iron skillet to give it some crispy bits. This is my new favorite pork taco meat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Turkey Wraps

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I liked this ok. I didn't have pico de gallo so I used drained salsa. I don't keep pico on hand and I wanted something quick so this is how I would do it if I ever did it again just for logistical reasons, but I bet it would be better with the fresher ingredients. I thought it looked a little soggy so I added maybe 2 ounces of cream cheese. For ease in prep I just mixed the shredded cheese in with the rest of the filling. I used jalapeno cheddar wraps and I think they were 10 or 12 inches, so I only had enough filling for 4. As an appetizer roll up, they were good but not outstanding. I did try one roll up with ham (ran out of turkey) and didn't like it nearly as well. You have to choose your deli meat carefully with this because you don't want anything sweet or super smoky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frito® Corn Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I just finished eating this at a work potluck and looked on here to find the recipe. The version I had was served in a 9x13 casserole with the corn chips crushed and crumbled on top. I was really surprised by this. I liked it a lot, but the onion is very strong so I would take it easy. This would make an excellent picnic salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Okay, so the flavor may not be as good as a store bought rotisserie chicken; HOWEVER it is so moist and it's hard to find a recipe for moist chicken. Definitely a keeper. The cooking method is a winner, will experiment with spices perhaps under the skin. Sue, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Cheese Ravioli

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Not too good. The cheese sauce needed something besides cheese and milk to make it work. It got gluey almost immediately once it chilled from being poured over the pasta. It had decent smoky flavor but was incredibly one dimensional. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I found this recipe because I had some leftover ricotta that I needed to use up. I searched for ricotta as an ingredient and this was about the only non-dessert option so I gave it a try even though I really love my Mom's meatball recipe. It was really good! I was serving these to onion haters so I used just a little bit of onion, very finely minced (maybe 1/4 c). I also didn't want to buy parsley just for this, so I used a good sprinkle of dried. Other than that I followed the ingredient list. I didn't want to make a mess of my cooktop so I just put the meatballs in the oven. I was a little freaked out by the color of the raw meatballs and I was a tad worried that the garlic was a little too raw and strong, but all the flavors came together nicely. I still like my Mom's meatballs the best, but if you don't have a Mom with a great meatball recipe or if you have a bunch of ricotta to use up, these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The cabbage became somewhat chewy. I will stick to the pan-fried cabbage preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Irish Car Bomb Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This makes great cupcakes too ...i always make a large batch to take to the pub with us, and they are well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBABIEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Rating this as a "let's try again". I accidentally messed up the recipe and put in a TABLESPOON of dill instead of a teaspoon, so it was hard to eat. I think it was too heavy on the mayonnaise and I missed the crunch of celery, so next time I will be adding some in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monkey Bread | The Pioneer Woman Cooks | Ree Drummond

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Try using less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easter Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I really liked this and my husband says this is his new favorite because of the bacon and potatoes. I halved the recipe and it was just fine for my small family, but it did change the cooking time a bit. I baked for about 40 minutes covered, then after about maybe 10 minutes uncovered I noticed that it was well set. I turned the broiler on for just a minute to brown it up. I didn't have issues with the texture of the unbrowned potatoes mixed throughout like the recipe calls for, but I can see how crisping it up might improve texture if you have the time and energy for the extra step. I used red bell pepper instead of green and green onion because I had it handy, and I really liked the color combination. I also added a shake of dry mustard since every other egg casserole recipe I have used calls for it (maybe 1/4 - 1/2 tsp.?), and I put in a couple good grinds of pepper. I didn't add salt because of the bacon, but I think next time I may add just a dash to the potatoes while they are thawing. Good stuff, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I am very happy with this recipe. Chicken salad is not rocket science, but it can be very bland if you don't have a combination of mix-ins that works for you. My favorite chicken salad is McAllister's, so I really like the combination of cranberries and nuts. I did use the celery and green onion, but I don't like green peppers plus I don't think this recipe needs more "crunch". I used leftover "bbq" chicken with the skin (and sauce) removed so I knew it has a little more flavor than your average plain chicken, so I skipped the paprika, seasoned salt, and pepper. I left it to sit overnight and it was really good in a whole wheat pita with crispy romaine. I'll bookmark this for a reminder, but I don't really think a "recipe" will be necessary in the future. Thanks for the recipe, I will use these add-ins for my chicken salad from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was delicious. We used fresh broccoli and steamed it. Then we cut it up some more. We exchanged cream for milk. Loved it and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mushroom Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This had a slight "processed" taste due to the beef broth but it was pretty good otherwise. I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty as a side for my family of 4 (my kids barely eat). I didn't have french onion soup so I doubled the beef broth and added about 1/2 a chopped onion. I sauteed the onion in the butter, then I added the rice when the onion was just soft to toast the rice and finish browning the onion. I added it all to a casserole dish with a full can of beef broth (remember I halved the recipe and didn't have onion soup). There was just the right amount of liquid and the rice cooked ALMOST perfectly (just a little gummy). I would like to try this with the onion soup but I think beef broth might be just a bit srong for my taste in this dish. I might prefer it with chicken broth. I would have loved to add some fresh sliced mushrooms to my onion while I was sauteeing, but my family won't eat them so I left them out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunshine Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I'm giving this a 2 because of the the inconvenience. This baking/basting business is for the birds. If you follow the instructions and use skin on, bone in thighs, you lose all the sauce when you take off the skin. You baste and baste and then you take off the flavor. The chicken was juicy and had decent flavor (it tasted like chicken), but most of the sauce was lost either when removing the skin or burned to the bottom of the glass pan. It felt like it took FOREVER because I was just sitting next to the oven waiting to baste again in 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Delicious!! I stuck with one can of apple pie filling and it turned out wonderfully fluffy. I cut the apples as I added them to the batter so they would be more evenly dispersed. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg,and 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the cake mix batter--I love cinnamon and brown sugar flavors!! I probably could of done a little more and it still wouldnt have been over-powering. I also adjusted the topping because my hubby doesn't like nuts in his desserts. I did 1 C. packed brown sugar, 3 Tbsp softened butter, and a packet of "cinnamon roll" flavored instant oatmeal. The topping was crispy and sweet and a perfect contrast to the fluffy apple layer. (Serve this warm with ice cream!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole III

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I liked this recipe but found it a little salty. I have been eating/making tater tot casserole since I was a child and always loved it, but my mom made it with no seasonings and my husband found it bland when I started making it for him. I like that this recipe uses only 1/2 lb of hamburger. My mom's old recipe used a full pound and that is too much. The garlic salt adds great flavor, but next time I will use 1/2 the garlic salt and 1/2 garlic powder to cut the saltiness. I didn't see a need for the milk, I think it would make it too watery, so I left it out. I included a good handful of shredded cheddar cheese and about a tablespoon of sour cream for extra flavor. I also used only 1/2 can beans and I used yellow wax beans (chopped up) so the kids wouldn't notice the vegetables. The color blends right in and they didn't even know they were eating beans in their casserole. Thanks for the update to my old family recipe. Kids really like this and it's great for the meat and potatoes husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States