Peoria, Illinois - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I didn't like this as much as my usual "french onion soup mix" pot roast, but it did have some nice points that I probably will steal. For some reason, this had almost a heavy celery flavor to me. I'm not sure if it was the ranch dressing mix or the italian dressing mix, but the whole roast/gravy tasted heavily of celery. This is not my favorite flavor and I usually leave celery out of soups and stews to avoid that overwhelming flavor. I really liked the consistency of the gravy and I think I will start using the 1/4 c flour rubbed into the meat from now on. I really liked using the chuck roast. I usually use just whatever is on sale but I think chuck is how I'm going to go chuck from now on with pot roast. My next roast I will go back to the onion soup mix packet, but thanks for the recipe. I'm glad so many like it, it just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Turkey and Swiss Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I scaled this to 1 serving and it was plenty of sandwich spread for 2 full sandwiches on regular sandwich bread. I did not like the thyme, sorry, and I even used just a little bit less than called for. The rest of the spread was great with nice proportions of each element and it really added a nice creamy, crunchy, flavorful kick to a basic sandwich. This makes a BIG sandwich, one was almost too much for me. I did not use 2 slices of tomato, but I thing you really need to just skip the recipe instructions for the amount of filling and use your eyes. I think I ended up using 2 good slices of turkey and I did go with the 2 full slices of swiss to get it good and cheesy and to make a good barrier to keep the tomato from sogging up the bread. I toasted it on a regular skillet with another skillet on top to weigh it down, and I made sure to really grill it a long time to get everything warm and gooey. Next time I will make it without the thyme because it unfortunately just overpowered everything for my taste, but this is a good fancy grilled cheese and I bet the spread would go great with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak Soup

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Really good, but the cook time was way off for me. I used well trimmed beef stew meat for the steak. It took about 1 hour of simmering to get it where I wanted to start. Next time I will add more onion and less meat, it was super meaty. The biggest time problem came when I added the vegetables. I used red potatoes, which have a similar texture to yukon golds, and I cut the celery amount about in half because celery has a tendency to overpower flavors. I think it took a good hour and a half at least to get my potatoes and carrots tender. I know this all depends on the size of slices/dices you use, but I think I went pretty small on my potato doce and carrot slices and it still took forever. The finished product needed a good amount of extra salt and garlic salt to get back to the right flavor. Potatoes and carrots really suck a lot of salt out of a dish. Since I had to simmer for so long to get the vegetables cooked, I lost about half of my liquid. What I ended up with was a very concentrated stew, not a soup. Still very good, just needs a little more beef broth up front if you want a soup consistency or super small diced vegetables to cook faster. Since the tomato paste topic is much discussed on this recipe, I used all but about 2 T. of my can of tomato paste and I din't find it too tomatoes, but I may add a can of diced tomatoes next time for more liquid and for those tomato chunks that I personally like in a veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Ranch Pork Chops and Rice

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This is really good but different then I expected. The ranch flavor was really mild. It was more just tangy than ranch-y. I usually find that the meat called for in these cream soup recipes is badly underestimated so I started with 6 bone in chops. Since I had more chops, I could not do the pan method. I browned the chops in 2 batches with pepper but no salt (I had read enough reviews saying it was too salty to salt the chops). I put the browned chops in a 9x13 casserole and browned just a little bit of onion in the remaining oil, then added the 1 1/2 tablespoons dip mix (note that the recipe calls for a half packet of mix) and half can evaporated milk to mix it up before pouring over the chops. I covered with foil then baked at 375 for 45 min, uncovering about half way through because I didn't want it too wet. It was tasty and not overly salty at all, but it needed more bake time to get really tender. I really liked it with the ranch rice called for. I wasn't clear on the recipe so I looked on the Campbell's website for the recipe. It wants you to mix the remaining 1 1/2 tbsp dip mix with 1 cup dry rice and water, then make your rice as normal. That was almost worth the recipe right there, I loved the ranch rice and it went great with the chops and sauce. I did only use 1 tbsp instead if 1 1/2 and it was great. Even with 6 chops, there was still plenty of gravy. You could probably even do 7 or 8 and still have plenty. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Magic Cookie Bars from EAGLE BRAND®

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
One of my favorite ever desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Frikin' Party Dip Ever!

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
A Half batch of this was plenty for my small party (8 adults), any more and I would have had leftovers for weeks. I thought it needed just a little more oomph, so I added about 4 oz. Velveeta, but I think cheddar cheese would have been tastier. Served from a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pickles

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Love these things, they remind me of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was really good. Due to my schedule, I wanted to make this during the weekday so I put it in the crock pot. I'm sure I missed some lovely texture from cooking this in the oven, but the crock pot worked great. I also have a small family and don't need tons of leftovers, so I made a half batch of this by buying a full size pork roast and cutting in half. Since I was cooking in the crock pot, I didn't drain the chilies, but I may next time because it was plenty wet just from the juice of the pork. My dish needed a little more salt than called for but that is probably due to the cooking method and easily fixed by salting to taste before serving. The flavor was really great and my husband and kids all loved it, but I prefer a little more spice. If you like spicy food, maybe add a little kick to it after shredding to your taste. If you do the crock pot method and you have a little time after cooking, I would suggest throwing the shredded pork in a hot cast iron skillet to give it some crispy bits. This is my new favorite pork taco meat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Turkey Wraps

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I liked this ok. I didn't have pico de gallo so I used drained salsa. I don't keep pico on hand and I wanted something quick so this is how I would do it if I ever did it again just for logistical reasons, but I bet it would be better with the fresher ingredients. I thought it looked a little soggy so I added maybe 2 ounces of cream cheese. For ease in prep I just mixed the shredded cheese in with the rest of the filling. I used jalapeno cheddar wraps and I think they were 10 or 12 inches, so I only had enough filling for 4. As an appetizer roll up, they were good but not outstanding. I did try one roll up with ham (ran out of turkey) and didn't like it nearly as well. You have to choose your deli meat carefully with this because you don't want anything sweet or super smoky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frito® Corn Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I just finished eating this at a work potluck and looked on here to find the recipe. The version I had was served in a 9x13 casserole with the corn chips crushed and crumbled on top. I was really surprised by this. I liked it a lot, but the onion is very strong so I would take it easy. This would make an excellent picnic salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Okay, so the flavor may not be as good as a store bought rotisserie chicken; HOWEVER it is so moist and it's hard to find a recipe for moist chicken. Definitely a keeper. The cooking method is a winner, will experiment with spices perhaps under the skin. Sue, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Cheese Ravioli

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Not too good. The cheese sauce needed something besides cheese and milk to make it work. It got gluey almost immediately once it chilled from being poured over the pasta. It had decent smoky flavor but was incredibly one dimensional. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I found this recipe because I had some leftover ricotta that I needed to use up. I searched for ricotta as an ingredient and this was about the only non-dessert option so I gave it a try even though I really love my Mom's meatball recipe. It was really good! I was serving these to onion haters so I used just a little bit of onion, very finely minced (maybe 1/4 c). I also didn't want to buy parsley just for this, so I used a good sprinkle of dried. Other than that I followed the ingredient list. I didn't want to make a mess of my cooktop so I just put the meatballs in the oven. I was a little freaked out by the color of the raw meatballs and I was a tad worried that the garlic was a little too raw and strong, but all the flavors came together nicely. I still like my Mom's meatballs the best, but if you don't have a Mom with a great meatball recipe or if you have a bunch of ricotta to use up, these are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The cabbage became somewhat chewy. I will stick to the pan-fried cabbage preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Irish Car Bomb Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This makes great cupcakes too ...i always make a large batch to take to the pub with us, and they are well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBABIEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Rating this as a "let's try again". I accidentally messed up the recipe and put in a TABLESPOON of dill instead of a teaspoon, so it was hard to eat. I think it was too heavy on the mayonnaise and I missed the crunch of celery, so next time I will be adding some in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monkey Bread | The Pioneer Woman Cooks | Ree Drummond

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Try using less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easter Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I really liked this and my husband says this is his new favorite because of the bacon and potatoes. I halved the recipe and it was just fine for my small family, but it did change the cooking time a bit. I baked for about 40 minutes covered, then after about maybe 10 minutes uncovered I noticed that it was well set. I turned the broiler on for just a minute to brown it up. I didn't have issues with the texture of the unbrowned potatoes mixed throughout like the recipe calls for, but I can see how crisping it up might improve texture if you have the time and energy for the extra step. I used red bell pepper instead of green and green onion because I had it handy, and I really liked the color combination. I also added a shake of dry mustard since every other egg casserole recipe I have used calls for it (maybe 1/4 - 1/2 tsp.?), and I put in a couple good grinds of pepper. I didn't add salt because of the bacon, but I think next time I may add just a dash to the potatoes while they are thawing. Good stuff, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I am very happy with this recipe. Chicken salad is not rocket science, but it can be very bland if you don't have a combination of mix-ins that works for you. My favorite chicken salad is McAllister's, so I really like the combination of cranberries and nuts. I did use the celery and green onion, but I don't like green peppers plus I don't think this recipe needs more "crunch". I used leftover "bbq" chicken with the skin (and sauce) removed so I knew it has a little more flavor than your average plain chicken, so I skipped the paprika, seasoned salt, and pepper. I left it to sit overnight and it was really good in a whole wheat pita with crispy romaine. I'll bookmark this for a reminder, but I don't really think a "recipe" will be necessary in the future. Thanks for the recipe, I will use these add-ins for my chicken salad from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was delicious. We used fresh broccoli and steamed it. Then we cut it up some more. We exchanged cream for milk. Loved it and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reyna Young Ulrich

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States