Granite City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I just tried this recipe. Wow!!! This is so close to the Grands by Pillsbury. So easy to put together. and the taste is great. I will definitely make these again, and again, and again. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

Skillet Pork Chops with Potatoes and Onion

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Followed directions exactly as printed. My family loves this dish so much it's become our Thursday night special. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rathergrowit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Illinois, USA

Eggnog Cheesecake III

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe was loved by all. I used vanilla extract instead of rum but everything else was the same. Wonderful recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made this recipe last night. It was entirely too sweet and too cakey. Baked in a cast iron skillet, it rose nicely and had a nice golden crust. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Harvey Ham Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, way to sweet and was very salty. Next time I will try low sodium ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Casserole II

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Way too many potatoes. That's all you could taste. Will cut the amount in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samrn80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA
Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Casserole

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I have made this a couple of times. I think it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poppy Seed Dressing II

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this recipe and my wife loves it. I let it sit in the refrigerator for 24 hours and it was unbelievably good. I scaled it down to 8 servings and instead of the onion grated, I used a 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder,,,,worked great. Thanks for the recipe,,,,this is a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lisa

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Made this last night and had no problems...everything went as the recipe said and everyone enjoyed it! It sure made for big pieces of cheesecake and very filling. There is nothing I would change on this recipe. If you follow it exactly you will have a wonderful cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I just made this last night for dinner. OMG! This is amazing. I didn't use the diced green chillies for medical reasons and olives I don't like. But it was unbelievably good. On every recipe I try, I rate it (poor, maybe, great, amazing). I guess you know the rating was amazing so I will definitely make this again. We have a lot of people over all the time for things, and this recipe makes a lot, so it works great for a big crowd at the house. I also added a couple of taco season packets to the meat mixture. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

Cream Puff Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
OMG! Way past good. I used French Vanilla pudding and almost lost my fingers. I recently tried banana pudding and again watch it, your family and friends will hurt you to get to it. LOL I like anything that is simple, and I can have this done in 1 hour and in the refrigerator. I';m trying chocolate at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe, but omitted the garlic and added poultry seasoning in it's place. Still turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I tried this meal last night. I didn't have a can of french onion soup, so I used a packet of Lipton onion soup in a 2 cup measuring cup. That was the only change I did, and we all thought the Salisbury steaks were really good. This recipe is a definite keeper. I will definitely make this recipe again. Thank You Kelly Berenger for submitting it. Yum Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

Best Hamburger Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Wow! I made these last night for dinner. I only changed one thing....besides the cheese in the recipe, just before I pulled them off the grill, I added a slice of American cheese to each one....OMG!!! The recipe definitely has the right title, cause it was the best hamburger we have ever had. I realize the recipes said to make 4 patties, but I ended up with 10. That's OK, Just means we had more to eat. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

Citrus Cheesecake

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I have made this twice to take to a couple of summer parties. It is delicious and a huge hit. Never a crumb leftover to take home! The citrus makes it a great summer dessert. I did make it with a graham cracker crust instead of the flour crust but added the citrus zest to the graham cracker mixture. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samrn80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA
Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Salad with Homemade Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Just made it. I didn't have any pepperoni so I used a very good hard salami. I am allergic to provolone cheese so I left it out as well. OMG!! Hasn't even refrigerated yet, and talk about good. WOW. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

Maryland Crab Cakes I

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this as a surprise for my husband's birthday tonight. This was the wetest mess. I used fresh lump crab and followed the recipe exactly. They fell apart in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've made these several times & keep the recipe on an index card in my pantry. I usually make these for Sunday breakfast & my family considers them a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rathergrowit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Illinois, USA

Mexican Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I have used this recipe several times. It's easy & always turns out great! Freezes well. My family prefers these home made shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rathergrowit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Illinois, USA

Chops with Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe was very bland. I made it exactly as listed. The chops were tender, but had little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States