Chicago - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Memphis Style Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Our new favorite recipe and brand of ribs! They turned out wonderful and juicy. I added BBQ sauce at the end and wouldn't change a thing. Using Smithfield/Farmland ribs definitely is what has made these great. Meaty and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Red Lentil Curry

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Doubled the tomato puree and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Lentil Curry

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Doubled the tomato puree and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Favorite Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Very good. Poached the chicken with 1 bay leaf, a few pieces of whole black pepper, and one crushed garlic clove, about 12 mins. Chopped very fine. Omitted relish, out of sugar so omitted sugar as well. Squeezed the juice of one lemon wedge. Only used about 1 tsp of black pepper. Added hot paprika. Refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This pie was amazing! I took the suggestions of others and used corn starch instead of flour and I also did 1/2 coconut milk and half 1/2 and 1/2. It was really delicious! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
This is the best not a pie maker cakes yes pie no but I loved it the crust was so nice made it into a cobbler and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovecookinh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Noodle Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This recipe goes by many names including Divine Casserole and Husband's Delight in addition to the name this submitter used. You can find versions of it many places and they all seem to vary the amounts of ingredients as well as method. I found this to be a delicious, easy, and super creamy alternative to lasagna. Here is what I did: Lightly grease a casserole dish and preheat the oven to 350. Cook 12 oz of egg noodles to al dente and then rinse in cold water to stop the cooking process. Mix the noodles with 1 cup (8 oz) softened cream cheese, 1 cup cottage cheese, and 1 cup sour cream. Brown 1 pound ground beef along with 1/2 cup white or yellow onion. Drain the fat and then add a 24 oz jar of your favorite tomato pasta sauce. You may add additional seasoning to the sauce if desired such as Worcestershire, hot sauce, garlic powder, or even cajun seasoning. Simmer the meat/sauce mixture for 20 minutes. Spread half of the noodle mixture in the dish, then drizzle half the meat/sauce mixture over top, then sprinkle over 1/2 cup each of mozzarella and cheddar cheeses. Repeat layers of other half of noodles, other half of meat/sauce, and another 1/2 cup each of mozzarella and cheddar cheeses. Bake for 35-40 minutes and finish with a few minutes on broil to brown the top cheese layer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rubenette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This recipe has a great taste, but I found that there was not enough sauce for the amount of pasta. I think 12 oz of pasta instead of 16 oz would be just right. For those who found this bland, I'm guessing they don't like fettuccini alfredo. The taste is very similar but with the addition of garlic and herbs. Also, don't forget the importance of salt in any pasta recipe. Your pasta water should be salty like sea water to make sure the pasta is properly seasoned during cooking. Check food network if you don't believe me, that is how professional chefs cook pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rubenette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmileChicago

Super Summer Kale Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I didn't make this exact recipe, but used it as a guide so shoot me. I'm going to review it anyway. Like many people, I used what I had in the fridge. I used strawberries, radishes and yellow tomatoes. I also cut the sugar to 1/4 cup which was plenty. This recipe will be a regular for me now. Make sure you let it sit in the fridge overnight. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmileChicago
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anastasia

Japanese Restaurant Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was SO amazing! Love the simplicity of the recipe. Often the fewer the ingredients, the better the result! My husband is Japanese & LOVES this salad. I julienned four cucumbers, doubled everything except the sesame oil & it was a 10!! Thank you!! YUMMMMYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Spinach Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
The ricotta and spinach reminds me of lasagna. Next time I will add more seasoning, garlic/onion powder...something to give it an added kick. Or maybe taco seasoning to make it more of a Mexican dish. But very tasty either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This was delicious and oh so easy to make. I drizzled olive oil and sparingly sprinkled garlic powder, parsley, and dried basil leaves on the french bread before toasting it in the oven. I also added some chopped up onions to the mix. The warm toasted bread with the cold balsamic bruschetta spread was heavenly. I will be making this often, as it is a healthy and simple dish to make for a quick snack. Absolutely delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta and Garlic

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I put a colander over cooking pasta & add broccoli to it & let it steam.When pasta is done I pour it over the broccoli & let it drain. Makes a great one pot meal! Don't you love no brainers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it was way too salty. It was a base taste, but I'll omit the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I roasted my own poblano peppers so that may have made a difference. although I was scepticle I have to say this was awesome! Try it you won't be disappointed! I used canned red enchilada sauce in place of the tomato sauce which worked fabulously. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lithuanian Saltibarsciai (Cold Beet Soup)

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I crave this soup in the summer! Make sure you let it sit for a day in fridge before eating it. I also add some salt and pepper (to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I really liked this. Husband thought it was too acidic. Maybe I will try to cut the ketchup with BBQ sauce as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fideo

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I first had fideo about 4 years ago, while visiting a friend in New Mexico. I've been visiting since college, but never came across fideo before when eating out. In any case, I recall thinking it was so yummy, I'd have to make it myself someday. Never got around to it, till recently, I picked up a bag of fideo at an Italian deli, so thought I'd try making it. I looked at a lot of recipes, including America's Test Kitchen's version (too involved), and this one appealed to me the most. I've already made it 3 times, I love it so much! It's not a copy of the one I had in NM (that was a little soupier), but the flavors are there, and it is sooo easy. Since the first time making it as written, I've tried it with diced onions and 2 cloves garlic, and a can of tomatoes for some texture, but I like it as written, and with my mods. I do cut the chili powder in half, just because my BF doesn't care for the taste, but a half tbsp is perfect for us. This is definitely a nice change of pace for a pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronniecaliente

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Very yummy! Took about 10 mins longer than the recipe stated to crisp up but I did add extra fruit as others mentioned. I am really glad I did because it likely would not have been enough as the layer was a little thin even with extra. Overall a good recipe and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
while this simmers I add a jar of pepperoncini that I have sliced including the liquid. Stems removed. Also I slowly add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States