Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a magnificent recipe, and I found it just when I thought there was not another new way to cook my favorite meat, pork tenderloin. Because it has no particular ethnic footprint, it leaves itself open to a wide variety of interesting side dishes, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very good! I'd never tried soaking in milk. I found that it mellows the "liver taste." This is either good or bad, depending on whether you like that flavor in liver. The criticisms are coming out of personal preferences, rather than anything not so good about the recipe. Some don't mind - or even enjoy - that slightly bitter taste, while others DO. The milk definitely helps reduce it. Flouring the liver is also a matter of preference. I usually prefer not to use flour, because I can keep better tabs on the internal doneness, which IS a vital factor for good liver. It should remain at least a tiny bit of pink, to insure moistness AND to avoid that "granular" quality that liver has when it is too well cooked, and which almost nobody likes. Overcooking is the most important thing to avoid. I'd love to make it crispy outside and slightly pink and moist inside, but it's not truly possible unless the liver is quite thick. I also brown my onions (LOTS of them) very thoroughly, and always include rashers of crisp bacon. Some garlic in the butter is also nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Blue Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made a good creamy soup. I added another can of tomatoes as did another reviewer. My only question is this: Blue cheese, cream cheese, milk, heavy craem, then Splenda? What's the point? It' like having a triple bacon cheese burger, giant fries, and ordering a Diet Coke. Not much sense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Cooked them as instructed with a dash of salt and vinegar added and they came out perfect all 4 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bada Bing Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very good... I made them on the stove it took a long time.. but there were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delicias, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

The Best Thai Curry-Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I only had 2 cans of coconut milk and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delicias, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delicias, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

World's Best Marinara

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
It was a very good base recipe. I omitted the mushrooms and cut the parsley to 1/4 cup added two cups of fresh tomatoes and put all the herbs into the blender with a can of diced tomatoes and pured it. Instead of olive oil I browned some hamburger and added onions and garlic, sauteing them in the grease while the ground beef cooked. Didnt have bell peppers and added salt to taste after all the ingredients were added together. Just waiting now to see if it cooks down (thickens) but the flavor is spot on! Awesome recipe for just a bunch on ingredients from my fridge, pantry and cabinet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Janette Chambless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken in Tomato-Coconut Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Only 3 just because it was toooooo spicy for me. Flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ditalini with Roasted Tomato Sauce and Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Too much oregano for my taste, and no Basil??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Tasty but I used less salt because I didn't have Kosher salt. I used one teaspoon of salt and it was still a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It came out dry and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Didn't like them at all! :( Too flat, too compact, not enough chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
AMAZING!! I was very skeptical about these cookies, but they turned out amazing! It was hard to make the balls but if you try to minimize the contact surface is actually easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made as directed, except I seared the meat first to lock in flavor. It was ok, not great. I´ll keep looking for other pot roast recipes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Saffron Rice "Lighter"

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Too much butter, not enough saffron. An entire stick of butter is entirely too much. Saffron's expensive, so if I'm going to cook with it, I'll use it, not food coloring. Another reviewer incresed the onion and used chicken broth, both worthy additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Saffron Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Too much butter, not enough saffron. An entire stick of butter is too much. Saffron's expensive, so if I'm going to cook with it, I'll use it, not food coloring. Another reviewer incresed the onion and used chicken broth, both worthy additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Simply Divine Meat Loaf with Spinach

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
It is rare, I think, to assign a five star rating to something as prosaic as meat loaf, but this recipe deserves it. As I gathered the ingredients, I wondered how this could possibly work, but I persevered. I used very lean ground beef - it is all I can buy where I live, in Mexico. It is also finely ground, which usually means that the meatloaf tastes like sawdust. Not this time. It was delicious and moist and savory. AND, I totally forgot the Parmesan cheese. And, I used about a cup of oatmeal instead of the bread crumbs. This is my new meatloaf recipe. I'm glad we have leftovers for sandwiches tomorrow. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Chicken with Rice and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a recipe that I make often, but it would benefit from a slight change in technique. Those of you that complain about the gravy should try this: Add a few TBS of butter to the pan when the chicken is done. Stir well to get all the bits off the bottom of the pan. Add the 2 TBS flour (or maybe 3) to make a roux, and let it bubble for a few minutes while you get all the lumps out. Then, pour in chicken broth, not water, and stir while it thickens. If it is too thick, add more broth. Let it cook on lower heat for a few minutes to cook the flour taste out of it. This is a more classic way to make gravy, and I think you'll like it better this way, as it cooks the flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe. I had to make it a few times to perfect it, but I finally did it. I definately recommend puting salt in with the sugar. When the popcorn cools you can separate the pieces that are stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimyco Hudspeth Trules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States