Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bada Bing Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very good... I made them on the stove it took a long time.. but there were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delicias, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

The Best Thai Curry-Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I only had 2 cans of coconut milk and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delicias, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delicias, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

World's Best Marinara

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
It was a very good base recipe. I omitted the mushrooms and cut the parsley to 1/4 cup added two cups of fresh tomatoes and put all the herbs into the blender with a can of diced tomatoes and pured it. Instead of olive oil I browned some hamburger and added onions and garlic, sauteing them in the grease while the ground beef cooked. Didnt have bell peppers and added salt to taste after all the ingredients were added together. Just waiting now to see if it cooks down (thickens) but the flavor is spot on! Awesome recipe for just a bunch on ingredients from my fridge, pantry and cabinet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Janette Chambless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken in Tomato-Coconut Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Only 3 just because it was toooooo spicy for me. Flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ditalini with Roasted Tomato Sauce and Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Too much oregano for my taste, and no Basil??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Tasty but I used less salt because I didn't have Kosher salt. I used one teaspoon of salt and it was still a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It came out dry and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Didn't like them at all! :( Too flat, too compact, not enough chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
AMAZING!! I was very skeptical about these cookies, but they turned out amazing! It was hard to make the balls but if you try to minimize the contact surface is actually easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made as directed, except I seared the meat first to lock in flavor. It was ok, not great. I´ll keep looking for other pot roast recipes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Saffron Rice "Lighter"

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Too much butter, not enough saffron. An entire stick of butter is entirely too much. Saffron's expensive, so if I'm going to cook with it, I'll use it, not food coloring. Another reviewer incresed the onion and used chicken broth, both worthy additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Saffron Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Too much butter, not enough saffron. An entire stick of butter is too much. Saffron's expensive, so if I'm going to cook with it, I'll use it, not food coloring. Another reviewer incresed the onion and used chicken broth, both worthy additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Simply Divine Meat Loaf with Spinach

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
It is rare, I think, to assign a five star rating to something as prosaic as meat loaf, but this recipe deserves it. As I gathered the ingredients, I wondered how this could possibly work, but I persevered. I used very lean ground beef - it is all I can buy where I live, in Mexico. It is also finely ground, which usually means that the meatloaf tastes like sawdust. Not this time. It was delicious and moist and savory. AND, I totally forgot the Parmesan cheese. And, I used about a cup of oatmeal instead of the bread crumbs. This is my new meatloaf recipe. I'm glad we have leftovers for sandwiches tomorrow. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Chicken with Rice and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a recipe that I make often, but it would benefit from a slight change in technique. Those of you that complain about the gravy should try this: Add a few TBS of butter to the pan when the chicken is done. Stir well to get all the bits off the bottom of the pan. Add the 2 TBS flour (or maybe 3) to make a roux, and let it bubble for a few minutes while you get all the lumps out. Then, pour in chicken broth, not water, and stir while it thickens. If it is too thick, add more broth. Let it cook on lower heat for a few minutes to cook the flour taste out of it. This is a more classic way to make gravy, and I think you'll like it better this way, as it cooks the flour better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe. I had to make it a few times to perfect it, but I finally did it. I definately recommend puting salt in with the sugar. When the popcorn cools you can separate the pieces that are stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solsister8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Actually made this with no changes, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Rosettes I

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Thank you for this recipe, I just made them yesterday, they taste delicious, my family loved them. I dipped them while still hot on regular white sugar and cinnamon. They are still fresh and crisp a day after, inside a cellophane bag, and they don't seem like they are going to get soggy any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Spinach Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I loved the thyme on it, loved the flavors. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Crustless Spinach and Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is ALMOST a real 5 star recipe, quite unlike any crustless quiche I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly, because I think it is unfair to rate a recipe that has been modified. It is delicious as it stands - the texture is so smooth and it is very, very rich. The directions are easy to follow, and it is uncomplicated to make. There were three of us at dinner, and I divided it into fourths, but it would easily serve six, as none of us could completely finish our portions. My husband commented that it could be more colorful, so I think I'll add some diced sweet red pepper to the mushrooms next time I make it. I might also use diced onion and garlic, as some reviewers have suggested. Also, it took mine a full hour in the oven to be ready to eat. Thanks for the great recipe; we all agreed that I should make it again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States