Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I make something very similar, almost the same really, but I add powdered chicken broth. I use this as a base for seasoning almost everything I make: Add a little herbage, basil, oregano, etc and you can adapt it to chicken fish, almost anything. It's very similar to Emeril's "essence" and that gives you a clue as to where he got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this recipe 3 days ago, it's gone now, and I wish calories were a myth because I want to make it again. I don't understand the bad revies this has. mine turned out to be creamy, rich, sweet, cheese flavoured, light, and all over delicious and decadent. I followed the recipe exactly, while putting to good use my own experience baking cheesecakes; always grease the mold so it won't stick to the sides and break, always let it set inside the oven with the door cracked a bit so the cake won't crack, for a moister cake always bake in a ban marie, (I didn't use the ban marie and it turned out great though). Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great way to use up what is basically something unusable. One reviewer stated they didn't know what herbs de provence was, and asked for "normal ingredients". This is what's wrong with society today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Classic Caesar Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
5 star recipe without the red wine vinegar and a few alterations... not in the ingredients though, just the quantities. This is the same recipe we use but for the red wine vinegar. We use about 5 cloves of garlic, several dashes of Worcestershire, and a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese! We use anchovy paste, a good squeeze from the tube and as far as the lemon juice, just add to suit your preference. Everyone asks for this recipe! It's even better the next day, so we always double the recipe and keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Restaurant Caesar Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
5 star recipe without the red wine vinegar and a few alterations... not in the ingredients though, just the quantities. This is the same recipe we use but for the red wine vinegar. We use about 5 cloves of garlic, several dashes of Worcestershire, and a 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese! We use anchovy paste, a good squeeze from the tube and as far as the lemon juice, just add to suit your preference. Everyone asks for this recipe! It's even better the next day, so we always double the recipe and keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Flavor does not come up to what you would expect from the labor that goes into it. There are simpler recipes that have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious! This recipe is easy to make and fabulous for tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I served with tuna spread in halves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariovidana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
turned out really good, I didn't have oyster sauce so I used Worcestershire sauce and is good, next time I wont use as much black pepper as is calling for, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico
Living In: Ray, Ohio, USA

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Today is the second time I've made this and I think it's great. The first time I made it, I followed to a T (except I used all purpose flour) and it was phenomenal. Today I did everything the same except I substituted one cup of flour for wheat flour. I just had a piece and it is still fantastic, but I like the all white better. I add all the sugar and I don't think it's overly sweet; in fact, I think that sweetness is what makes the bread special. I have made dinner rolls with this too and they're great. I have left the dough rising for more time as well, but I prefer to make the recipe exactly as written. I brush each loaf with a tablespoon of butter as soon as they are out of the oven. My husband loves this bread and I do too. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Coconut Brittle

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This recipe relies entirely on the type of microwave you have. In my case, the time was too much and it didn't become brittle, it was more caramel like. Use a 1/4 less of coconut for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Quite good, not my favorite but I dig it. For better results sift the confectioner's sugar twice, and if you do not want it this sweet, you can cut from 4 cups to 3 with no problem at all. Like other reviews: measure the milk to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hector Gzz

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made this recipee as posted, but i used Salmon instead of chicken. It was delicious...also used some onion and bell pepper....red, yellow, orange, green....they looked beautiful. Grill success for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector Gzz
Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jemput Jumput (Banana Fritters)

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made a few minor adjustments to this recipe including using gluten free baking mix instead of regular flour. I cut the recipe way down since I realized how many servings it is for! There are only three in our household! Lol. I used brown sugar instead of white and fried them in coconut oil. Since I realized these were not what I consider traditional banana fritters I was happy with the outcome. They are not fluffy so if that is what you are wanting, skip this recipe. But, they have a nice banana flavor and even though you may think they are too dark let them fry to a deep brown on each side. I recommend this for anyone looking for a change to their regular fritters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Hollandaise Sauce in the Microwave

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was OK and very easy. I have never had hollandaise sauce before, so I have no idea if mine was close to how it really should be. I microwaved 3 or 4 times in 10 second intervals. It was nice, though and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was ok for a quick substitute at 11:30 pm. I didn't make the glaze, I just rolled them in cinnamon sugar. I also don't have a donut pan, so I dropped little spoonfuls into hot oil to make donut holes. The batter was a bit sticky, so I prefered to just handle it with two spoons. They were ok, but, like others said, they don't taste as good when they cool off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Molten Chocolate Cakes With Sugar-Coated Raspberries

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this for New Years for just my husband and I so I halved the recipe. I love the simplicity! WHen I finished mixing everything up, I got really nervous because the batter was extremely liquidy, so I went ahead and added the entire 4 teaspoons of flour (for half the recipe) and put the batter in the fridge. It was there for about 3 hours and when I went to take it out just before dessert, it was so thick it was practically a solid! Whoops! I left it out at room temp. hoping it would soften up, but after about 20 minutes I got impatient and just grabbed my muffin tin, greased with shortening sprinkled with sugar and filled the cups. There were 4 little cakes. I baked them for about ten or twelve minutes, but I had a lower temp than recommended just in case. I took them out when the sides looked baked and the center wet. They were perfect. A brownie-like, slightly crisp exterior and a fantastic gooey, chocolatey center. Restaurant quality with no effort. Next time I won't add the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Double Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this pie for Christmas with my mom and everybody loved it. I made mini pies and there were 6. It was very rich though, and only one person could finish the whole mini pie in one round. They were all devoured in the end, though. I have to say that I was a bit worried because my pudding wasn't thickening up, so I added a bit more cornstarch. But the thing that helped so much was when I transferred some of the chocolate to the egg mix, that helped it thicken up quickly and a lot but I did end up stirring a good 15 minutes. Don't under mix because I think it could be very runny if you're not patient enough. So my pie ended up a little too thick but that must have been because the extra cornstarch, either way it was fantastic. The whipped cream is not optional because it balances out the richness of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Photo by Hector Gzz

Chef John's Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I did it for christmas eve, it is as easy as shown on video...everybody love it. Chef John....my kitchen sensei...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector Gzz
Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have always used a slightly different recipe when making this casserole. I add a couple of carrots and a turnip, while cutting back sweet potato to one med. I cook them all together and mash them together when cooked. Try it you might like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cliffmills

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States