Mexico - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fortune Cookies III

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
My family and I really liked the flavor and while they may not be simple to shape, it is doable. I used to have a great fortune cookie stovetop recipe and tried making these on the stove- nope! They turn out like pancakes. So my tips would be that you need a very hot oven, make sure your baking sheet has some oil or pam because these things are so thin, they will STICK. Also, keep a close eye while baking because they can turn from just done to dark brown/black in a second. When smoothing in the pan before baking, make sure they are almost see-through thin and try to make them as perfectly round as possible and that will help you when shaping the cookie after baking. My reason for not giving 5 stars is the color. They never turn out a nice, even golden color. They are either dark brown OR pale in the center w/ dark brown edges. I know ovens can be to blame, but most any other recipe turns out perfectly in mine, so I wanna say something is lacking in the original recipe. It is a tricky recipe, mostly the shaping part. And yes, work with maximum 3 at a time because they set fast. If the cookies are coming out bad enough to be a Pinterest Fail, I recommend rolling them up like little taquitos, they can still hold the fortune paper well and still look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I agree that this is a four star recipe as written, and I have mixed feelings about posting the manner in which I adapted it to our own tastes, because I know that many readers are critical of such a move. Usually, I make a new recipe exactly as written first, then make adaptations. I couldn't do that this time, because I had no lemon pepper, and I just did not want to use so much cream, despite the fact that I follow a low carbohydrate diet. So here is what I did: I poured half a cup of chicken broth into a small bowl and added the zest and juice of a medium lemon, then set aside. After I had finished cooking the chicken cutlets, I added two cloves of crushed garlic and the dill to the pan, let them sizzle for a few minutes, then de-glazed the pan with 1/4 cup white wine. Then I added the chicken broth/lemon mixture and whisked 1/4 cup cream into this, and added the capers (be sure to find the smallest capers you can). Let this cook down for about five minutes, then serve the chicken with the sauce. My husband, who is not an adventurous eater, loved this, and so did I. His got served with boiled potatoes. And we both had fresh green beans. I'll make this again very soon. Hope someone can use this modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Southern Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent BeSaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
Photo by Phil Micheal

Easy Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This was amazing! It's my new super easy "go to" dessert recipe whenever fresh blueberries are available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Micheal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Johnny's Spice Rub

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I make a rub that's very similar to this, with the addition of about 1 heaping tablespoon of onion powder. I do have a word of advice: Use a good paprika, IE Hungarian, in the big red can, sweet, smoked of hot ( which really isn't, but is a bit spicier). The paprika usually seen in mega marts, is bland and tasteless, adding little besides color to the party. Also, I cut down on the black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I have seen this same exact recipe all over the net, breast instead of thighs, all ingredients the same. Must be most copied recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Very good. Marinade adds a good flavor while not overwhelming. Easy to make and with ingredients one should have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windtraveler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Celaya, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pernil Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Yesterday, I defrosted my chest freezer and found a very sad-looking pork shoulder roast at the very bottom. The wrapping was torn and it was a bit freezer-burned. I thawed it out overnight and put it in the crock pot this morning using this recipe. I didn't expect much. It was heavenly. Moist, tender and delicious. I subbed dried oregano for fresh; otherwise, I followed the recipe. My husband and I both loved it, and I'll follow another reviewer's advice: tacos tomorrow night and Cubano sandwiches the next. Thanks for the great recipe. I'll use it again and agai, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This recipe is better than most apple crisps I've tried, but I did find it a bit flawed, though I would make it again with some changes. It was overly sweet so I would decrease the sugar in the crumble part by one fourth cup.I do have to say that the texture was SUPERB. Another problem is that the cookie part tasted eggy. Weird because there is no egg in the recipe and I used only the freshest ingredients. Maybe I'll try with a different type of oat next time? All in all, worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I've made this recipe several times, INCREDIBLE!!! Everytime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMON.PDX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Horchata de Arroz (Rice Drink)

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Its very good ! exactly like the one served in my hometown in Mexico ! I switched the Evaporated milk with Soy milk, since I'm lactose intolerant, I also didnt use the cheese fabric, since I like to taste the small grain of rice. I just have to shake it before to take a sip.... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Chef John does it again. This unique approach to meatloaf is perfect for me, because I live in a country where the beef is grass-fed and very lean (Mexico). I have tried various approaches to making meatloaf that does not taste like sawdust. This is it. Thank you, Chef John. I did use half the salt and half of the brown sugar in the glaze. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, and I cooked it for about an hour. This is an excellent, healthy meatloaf, and we are looking forward to having sandwiches tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Looks yummy, except that it is cooked medium rare, and pork should ALWAYS be thoroughly cooked. That means no pink at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Feta Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe, and I'm disappointed that more people don't seem to have tried and rated it. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I had a shallot to use instead of the onion, and I added twice as much spinach, as I also wanted to use that up. I chopped it into pretty small pieces before I added it, and used regular feta cheese, which actually melted quite nicely and added some nice salty accents. This would be a fine dish for company - it is very pretty to serve and easy to make. It would also sit for quite awhile, I imagine - maybe half an hour or so - if you keep it covered. Thanks, for a new addition to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good, all flavor and texture. But I had a problem: just had clear corn syrup and no time to spare, so I used that one and golden sugar instead and came out just great. By the way, if somebody doesn't like super sweet stuff I would cut the sugar to 1 cup only. This is a great recipe, try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This cranberry sauce has such a beautiful color,and tastes so fresh. I agree with an earlier reviewer who cautioned against letting it boil over - I turned my back and it made quite a mess! Nevertheless, it is perfect for Thanksgiving and I made it a few days early to let the flavors ripen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Just getting ready to make this delicious casserole for the umpteenth time for this year's Thanksgiving. I also cut the sugar in half and might up the cream a bit. My suggestion for cooking the sweet potatoes is to cook them in a steamer. They don't dry out (like in the oven) or take on too much water (when they are boiled) or cook unevenly (as in the microwave.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

That's-a Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I feel a bit guilty reviewing this recipe, because I made quite a few changes. But the essence of this wonderful recipe remained. That is one of the strengths of this recipe - it is flexible. I used prosciutto instead of ham, and fresh mozzarella. Following another reviewer's advice, I used chili sauce instead of catsup and I subbed oatmeal for bread crumbs. Suggestions for using a sheet of plastic wrap coated with nonstick spray were spot-on: this worked without a hitch. I cooked it for exactly 75 minutes, in a loaf pan, let it cool for about 15 minutes, and it sliced perfectly. It was delicious. Next time, I might try ham and cheddar and leave out the Italian seasonings. My DH and I both enjoyed it and I'll never make another boring meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Cranberry Scones

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made these fantastic scones twice in a week. The first time I prepared the recipe as stated although I did not knead the dough. I used a tablespoon to drop them onto a cookie sheet. The second group were even more delicious! I used a little white sugar to roll each scone and I replaced the walnuts with pecans. Outrageously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gay Grieger-Lods
Living In: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Punch with Ice Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Nice idea, and would be very good if made with natural ingredients, but all I could taste were the chemicals in the whipped topping, the drink mix, the instant coffee, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States