Italy - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Serendipity Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
5 stars for sure, and I can assure that my family is quite used to hand made breads of every conceivable kind, I do bake a lot. This bread is awesome, truly: I followed the directions, put some dried rosemary and garlic paste while mixing the flour. It really takes a couple of minutes on the grill, but the taste is wonderful, and no trouble at all. I think we'll never grill a thing without this bread on the table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Shells I

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This dish came out great but I did change a couple of things the second time around that I really thought made it that much better. - 1 15oz of ricotta instead of cottage cheese - added fresh spinach (chopped) into the cheese mix - 1 egg instead of 2 - added red pepper flakes to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Spinach Balls

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Watch out - these little guys are lethal. My husband came home late from a flight and he ended up eating half the batch, just standing and chatting. I've started the second go-around now. I used fresh spinach on hand, boiled it down. I'd use some Pam spray on the pan, they sorta stuck. Dipped in homemade marinara sauce - yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Apple Coleslaw

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
We loved this recipe! I added sultanas and omitted red peppers, simply because I forgot to buy some... it was good after 2 hours and even better the day after. I used vegan mayo, which is amazing and cholesterol-friendly, enriched with ginger, and it complimented the other flavours. I may add that it looks pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Italian Pizza Dough

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
the egg is for the flour mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Carrot Souffle

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Super tasty, like a yummy dessert... or the inside of a pie. Great way to tease the kiddos into eating something 'healthy'. Less sugar next time (so I can enjoy more of it) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Berry Shortbread Dreams

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
veri crumbly dough; I decided to leave it alone and made a sort of cheesecake crumly bottom and put the jam on top. Taste was good, but as cookies go, I found better recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this is great to decorate and use as a base for wedding/birthday cakes. I did fold the egg whites very delicately, and I added the extra 1/2 cup of milk. It worked beautifully: used white chocolate creme patissiere to fill it, wetting the 2 layers generously before with sour cherry juice, which contrasted beautifully with the cloying sweetness of the white choc. Also, the juice tended to give a soft pinkish color to the cake, which is the desired effect, as the party was for my little girl. So versatile, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppy's Pita Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
my kids gobbled it up in no time! it's quite tho original, perfect with feta and tomato salad with olives, like you were in Santorini... I made the dough in the bread machne, it came out a bit sticky so I worked it with flour. Do not worry because it doesn't rise much, all the raising happens inside the oven, so to speak. I was in a hurry, so no brown paper bag and no damp towel either, straight from the oven on the table, but I reckon they didn't suffer for it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Panettone

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
would like to try it ,but do not have a bread machine ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Italian Easter Bread Anise Flavored

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
love your Italian Easter Bread , just like im ciao bella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Liqueur Souffles

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
love it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made these following the recipe exactly but these did not go over well with my family. Reheating the mashed potatoes in the slow cooker was a great idea but the recipe itself really did nothing for us. For my tastes it was too rich but at the same time very bland. Will use the slow cooker technique in the future but will stick with my own basic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The taste wasn't there. I even added vanilla extract the second time around and butter instead of oil.. 3 tries on this recipe and still the taste was meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Apple Cake IV

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Very moist and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

Zucchini Souffle

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this for a pic-nic...everyone loved it!!! just added some diced bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

Bagels II

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
The perfect recipe!!! We don't have bagles in Italy and me and my family were missing them soooo bad!!! Used a little less flour and needed 40mins to get them brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

Italian Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Ho fatto questo per la mia famiglia e hanno adorato. Ha sapore e il pollo era perfetto. Succulente e succosa. (Translation: I made this for my family and they loved it. It has flavor and the chicken was perfect. Succulent and juicy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianLittleMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palermo, Sicilia, Italy
Photo by Cappelletti

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
For a first timer this was super simple - I'm extremely happy with the results and so is my boyfriend ha ha The only thing I did differently was add chopped walnuts, some vanilla extract and a little bit of cinnamon. I also took note of a review I read that suggested not over mixing when combining the bowls. My banana bread came out moist and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States