Italy - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

No Knead Beer Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
everything they've been saying about this bread is true: delicious, easy and no trouble at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Let me start out by saying I did NOT change this recipe! I did make a lot more because I started out with 36 chicken thighs cut up and therefore adjusted all the other ingredients accordingly! I was forced to slightly change the cooking method because of my needs so I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the cream until much later. I made everything according to the recipe (excluding the cream)a day ahead of time. Then today I put the chicken with its sauce in my 6-liter slow cooker on "keep warm" which gets it very hot. About 10 minutes before we were to eat, I added the cream (and a bit of sour cream - oops! That is a little change) For my large crowd this was PERFECT chicken! There was some leftover and everyone was asking if they could take it home which is always what I hope for - no leftovers at all! Thanks Faith! A perfect recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
it sounded weird, thinking it only has flour and sugar and water and sugar, plus some pieces of fruit thrown in... but I had faith, the other reviewers had been positive and so I went along: well, the result is very good, it's easy, quick, you cannot fail to have these ingredients, and it impressed everybody. I put the diced apple and dried cranberries both on the bottom and over the batter, used a 23x9 pan, and it came out perfect. It sure is good eaten warm, but we finished it off later without rewarming it and my little girl loved it! ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iannacca

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very nice recipe, I took in part the suggestions of Janet Dufor and JULIEWNEK (thanks to both!) and added my own twist, substituting lettuce (for the sogginess issue) and green bell pepper (my son does not like them) with a simple guacamole, which I made just mashing 5-6 avodacos, adding chili powder and cumin to taste, the juice of a lime (can use 1/2 too) and about 4-6 oz of creamy goat cheese. I used ~ 1lb. of 85% lean ground turkey for the taco meat, also spiced up with the taco seasoning mix (but added chili powder and cumin to taste to this too because the mix I had was a bit wimpy). I also warmed up the refried beans before spreading them (added a bit of water to it to make is a bit creamier, o/w too guey straight out of the can, can use chicken stock too). I had a large platter (and a nice size group!), so I decided to double the beans (2 cans). I also used light sour cream and no cream cheese to cut a bit on calories. I ended up with eight layers, which I arranged as follows (from bottom to top): 1) Refried beans; 2) Turkey taco meat; 3) Shredded Cheddar cheese (melted nicely on top the two warm layers); 4) Sour cream; 5) Salsa; 6) My guacamole; 7) Rotel original recipe tomatoes mixed with chives instead of green onions (either OK I think); 8) Sliced black olives. Great with either tortilla chips of all sorts or even soft corn tortillas (we used a lot of the latter and blue corn chips for some gluten-intolerant people). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iannacca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta and Garlic

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I add 3 or more cloves of garlic bc I love love love garlic. One thing I'd note is to make sure you salt and pepper to taste when you've mixed the pasta and oil together otherwise you may not have enough. * add red flakes for some extra taste = amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Easy Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This came out really good! I ended up adding 2 more tbsp of soy and a little more pepper as we love our food with a lot of kick..I also added broccoli! Yum!! Making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Aviano, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cappelletti

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is great for making quick pizza pockets. Just make sure you roll the dough thin and really pack in the ingredients. Bake same temp for ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Photo by Cappelletti

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe to the T except I cooked fresh bacon, chopped it up once dried and I baked the poppers instead of frying them. Baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. They came out crunchy and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Toll House® Blonde Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These are delicious, don't get me wrong, but I'm quite disappointed in the texture. I remember blondies were denser and chewier like a brownie. This taste like a very nice cake. I'm afraid I'll have to continue looking for the elusive blondie of my past!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINALESSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Spoleto, Umbria, Italy

Sourdough Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
it's a quick, easy and smart way to use your surplus starter to make scones: nothing to write home about, but interesting and unbelievably friendly. In a few minutes and with 3 basic ingredients you make something that a lot of people wouldn't dream to be able to produce... I added sugar and dried cranberries and no baking powder or soda, as my starter is quite powerful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Italian Christmas Cookies with Cocoa and Orange Liqueur

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my cookies are a hit !! made a a lot for xmas day and for new year too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Ignazia Vella

Panettone I

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made it 3 time love it ,also I change a it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Hot Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
we liked it a lot, it's easy and quite impressive when you think of the amount of time it took you to get it together. Anything that can go on a pizza can basically go here: I don't like anchovies, but put a lot of oregano and black olives. Even the children cannot quite criticize it... I have no microwave but this didn't put me out: it is a success straight from the oven too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Like this one going to make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Herman Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
great find! I certainly can use a new recipe other than bread to dispose of my sourdough starter, and these pancakes are light and fluffy into the bargain! my kids proclaimed it a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sourdough Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
quite a good, basic cake, which has a lot of possibilities and helps you use the extra sourdough starter you end up with when you are messing around with natural leavening and so on. I made it twice, once as described and yesterday with instant coffee powder instead of cocoa and the result is still good. You can also add apples, pears or any fruit, and chips of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
It is so important to chose the right balsamic vinegar....If you use a well-seasoned (costs more and is more sugary/less acidulous) the result is excellent. My variant doesn't change the flavor that much but seals in the juices before roasting and gives a much more attractive presentation. Same ol' prep with the resealable bag, and one SMALL crushed garlic clove (don't overdo it, folks), and a half tsp of erbes de Provence (the thyme and rosemary enhance and give structure to the balsamic vinegar) without overpowering the delicacy of the roast. Hey, if you can't get that SUPER aceto balsamico from Modena (it's 20 minutes from Bologna where I live) add a tbsp of brown sugar or honey to the marinade.... that works, too. THEN!!!! Before you put it in the roasting pan and in the oven, brown that dude on all sides in some hot olive oil and one tbsp butter (don't let it smoke!!!) to seal in the goodies. Try it, you'll like it... It becomes a 5 star PLUS if you poke a dozen or so whole cloves in the upper surface. While it's cooking, I can assure you that you won't be tempted to throw it out for the smell of vinegar!! If the doorbell rings it's one of the neighbors who wants to know what you're cooking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doctor Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
my very first corn bread, so I have nothing to compare it with. We ate it hot, and it was very good. We liked it on the sweet side, as I added some more sugar; great with cheese, ham and also standing alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RaquelitaRod

Italy's Answer to Tuna-Helper

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I'm giving it five stars for the combination of taste, how fast and easy it is, and for how simple and common the ingredients are. I'm thinking to try it with chopped chicken breast next time! (For taste alone, I would rate it 4 stars because I like more complicated dishes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Baked Potato

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Rubber... Maybe it was the type or size of potato I used, or maybe it was the microwave, but it came out overcooked rubber. Which after 30 seconds turned into a stone. I'm sure if I had paid better attention I could have only done the first 5 mins. Sadly, it was my last potato, so guess I'll try again after I buy more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States