Italy - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Here's what I did to accommodate my circumstances - a meat dish for about 50 people. I chose to debone and skin the thighs and cut many of them in half. I marinated them as directed (can't get dry mustard powder here) and cooked the thighs all packed closely together in 3 large pans. I reduced the liquids as per the recipe and then put everything in a large slow cooker, in the fridge, for the next day. About 3 hours before eating I turned the crock pot on "keep warm" and they were steaming hot and beautifully infused with flavour by the time we ate. A HUGE hit with everyone here in Italy!! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tart Lemon Triangles

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I'll keep this! next time I could cut a bit on the sugar in the filling, as we like it a bit tart. Also, this pie can accomodate more or less lemon juice and lemon zest according to your tastes. I didn't use the food processor and cut the butter pastrylike by hand and the whole preparation took really a small amount of time; I guess it would have been even more quick had I used the food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cappelletti

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I was forced to use fingerling potatoes but it didn't matter. The potatoes came out perfect and it was so quick and easy!! I'm used to roasting potatoes which takes so much longer so I'm happy to now have this recipe in my back pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Photo by Cappelletti

Cheddar Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I switched out parsley for thyme. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Monkey Bread II

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
wonderful recipe, cannot get enough stars for easyness, quickness, gooeyness... we had company for dinner and I set the bread machine timer to have it ready by the time I came home; 10 minutes to dip the little dough balls in butter/sugar mixture (yes, a trifle too much, you can cut the amount or drizzle it on the finished product before baking). I skipped the raisins and nuts, but made it pretty with candied cherries and popped it into the oven: ready in 20 minutes, just about the time to put the finishing touches to the dinner and serve it. Then it went on the table nicely warm; ok, there is the hot and messy sauce issue, so you need to be careful when you put it upside down, but all in all it was a smash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cappelletti

Strawberry Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe, it came out really moist. I doubled the amount of strawberries - blended 75% and chopped the rest so that I'd have strawberry taste throughout the bread and also have nice beautiful chunks visible when I cut into it. I also used half the sugar so it came out less sweet and more subtle which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

No Knead Beer Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
everything they've been saying about this bread is true: delicious, easy and no trouble at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Let me start out by saying I did NOT change this recipe! I did make a lot more because I started out with 36 chicken thighs cut up and therefore adjusted all the other ingredients accordingly! I was forced to slightly change the cooking method because of my needs so I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't add the cream until much later. I made everything according to the recipe (excluding the cream)a day ahead of time. Then today I put the chicken with its sauce in my 6-liter slow cooker on "keep warm" which gets it very hot. About 10 minutes before we were to eat, I added the cream (and a bit of sour cream - oops! That is a little change) For my large crowd this was PERFECT chicken! There was some leftover and everyone was asking if they could take it home which is always what I hope for - no leftovers at all! Thanks Faith! A perfect recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
it sounded weird, thinking it only has flour and sugar and water and sugar, plus some pieces of fruit thrown in... but I had faith, the other reviewers had been positive and so I went along: well, the result is very good, it's easy, quick, you cannot fail to have these ingredients, and it impressed everybody. I put the diced apple and dried cranberries both on the bottom and over the batter, used a 23x9 pan, and it came out perfect. It sure is good eaten warm, but we finished it off later without rewarming it and my little girl loved it! ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iannacca

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very nice recipe, I took in part the suggestions of Janet Dufor and JULIEWNEK (thanks to both!) and added my own twist, substituting lettuce (for the sogginess issue) and green bell pepper (my son does not like them) with a simple guacamole, which I made just mashing 5-6 avodacos, adding chili powder and cumin to taste, the juice of a lime (can use 1/2 too) and about 4-6 oz of creamy goat cheese. I used ~ 1lb. of 85% lean ground turkey for the taco meat, also spiced up with the taco seasoning mix (but added chili powder and cumin to taste to this too because the mix I had was a bit wimpy). I also warmed up the refried beans before spreading them (added a bit of water to it to make is a bit creamier, o/w too guey straight out of the can, can use chicken stock too). I had a large platter (and a nice size group!), so I decided to double the beans (2 cans). I also used light sour cream and no cream cheese to cut a bit on calories. I ended up with eight layers, which I arranged as follows (from bottom to top): 1) Refried beans; 2) Turkey taco meat; 3) Shredded Cheddar cheese (melted nicely on top the two warm layers); 4) Sour cream; 5) Salsa; 6) My guacamole; 7) Rotel original recipe tomatoes mixed with chives instead of green onions (either OK I think); 8) Sliced black olives. Great with either tortilla chips of all sorts or even soft corn tortillas (we used a lot of the latter and blue corn chips for some gluten-intolerant people). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iannacca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta and Garlic

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I add 3 or more cloves of garlic bc I love love love garlic. One thing I'd note is to make sure you salt and pepper to taste when you've mixed the pasta and oil together otherwise you may not have enough. * add red flakes for some extra taste = amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Easy Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This came out really good! I ended up adding 2 more tbsp of soy and a little more pepper as we love our food with a lot of kick..I also added broccoli! Yum!! Making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Aviano, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cappelletti

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is great for making quick pizza pockets. Just make sure you roll the dough thin and really pack in the ingredients. Bake same temp for ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Photo by Cappelletti

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe to the T except I cooked fresh bacon, chopped it up once dried and I baked the poppers instead of frying them. Baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. They came out crunchy and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cappelletti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

Toll House® Blonde Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
These are delicious, don't get me wrong, but I'm quite disappointed in the texture. I remember blondies were denser and chewier like a brownie. This taste like a very nice cake. I'm afraid I'll have to continue looking for the elusive blondie of my past!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Romano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Spoleto, Umbria, Italy

Sourdough Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
it's a quick, easy and smart way to use your surplus starter to make scones: nothing to write home about, but interesting and unbelievably friendly. In a few minutes and with 3 basic ingredients you make something that a lot of people wouldn't dream to be able to produce... I added sugar and dried cranberries and no baking powder or soda, as my starter is quite powerful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Italian Christmas Cookies with Cocoa and Orange Liqueur

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my cookies are a hit !! made a a lot for xmas day and for new year too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Ignazia Vella

Panettone I

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made it 3 time love it ,also I change a it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Hot Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
we liked it a lot, it's easy and quite impressive when you think of the amount of time it took you to get it together. Anything that can go on a pizza can basically go here: I don't like anchovies, but put a lot of oregano and black olives. Even the children cannot quite criticize it... I have no microwave but this didn't put me out: it is a success straight from the oven too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Like this one going to make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States