Italy - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
didn't change a thing, it was pretty delicious. The right dessert after a BBQ, with a bit of ice cream that quite compliments it. For us it's quite perfect as it is; I admit that the crust is a bit "biscuitlike" and not crumbly, you can always change the crust with something with oats or so, but... it would be another recipe, wouldn't it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken II

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Easy and hearty meal, perfect for weekdays and even weekend dinners with friends and family! Where I live we don't have Italian breadcrumbs so I made it myself. It tasted spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heydinski
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Very easy and heartwarming recipe! I made it and it tasted delicious. My flatmates also ate it and they liked it a lot, even asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heydinski
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cap Cai

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I'm an Indonesian currently living abroad. I made this recipe and it tasted like the capcai (or capcay) my mother made at home! It was such a nice surprise. Very easy to make and healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heydinski
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Homemade Italian Red Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I like it ,cook my home made 2 times a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Easter Bread Ring

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

San Francisco Style Bagels

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Fifteens

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
oh my, who would have believed that it was gonna be such a great hit?? I must confess that I made it more for the colors than anything else (my daughter's party, we needed something with pastel colors, and it complimented the pastel-colored little paper cups we had chosen...). So I used pink, yellow and pale blue striped marshmallows. Then I went on making mistakes: I forgot to buy the required Digestives, and we only had amaretti (of all things!!! I didn't even remember why we had these). Then I got confused and threw the whole cup of coconut into the mix, instead of saving it to powder the sausage of dough! so I had to add more milk. I simply thought I was headed for disaster. Well, I got rave reviews, people asking for the recipe all over the place, and many kept repeating This is insanely addictive!!! I can't wait to do it right:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brigadeiro

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
it's really ready in breeze and it's quite good. I also experienced the problem of the stickyness as mentioned by others, but it didn't bother me so much. I just washed my hands often, is all: I prefer that to greaseing my hands. My decoration was pink and lilac and white tiny hearts, as it was my daughter's party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Parmesan Monkey Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Had it for a week night, and it was quick and easy enough: our meal revolved around it, with some meat and cheese, so everyone was free to decide what to accompany it with. I prepared yhe dough with my bread machine, and I set the timer so to have it ready exactly when I was opening my door, coming from work. That means I only had to put the whole thing together, just whisking a couple of eggs and herbs, quick enough. I followed the recipe to a T, as I usually do the first time, just to be fair; I did wonder about oregano, as parsley didn't give any kick to it according to me. I probably increased the amount of parmesan, but I'm glad I did it, it was not overpowering at all. Next time I'm going to let it rise more, and also to use olive oil instead of butter, which only adds graesiness and can be omitted in my opinion. All in all, will do it again, the kids thought it was a kind of quiche with a hole in the middle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
great!! we loved it, it's so much more than the usual boring lemon bar!! I followed it to a T, had some lovely organic lemons so I felt safe using the zest. Next time I think even more grated zest will find its way in this fab recipe, which is perfect for spring and summer. The crust is delicious and the cheesecake filling is luscious: mine turned out as a sort of rich lemon curd, that's amazing! It was only for the family, so I didn't go to a lot of trouble to decorate it, but I believe that raspberries or strawberries on top would add a nice touch when you have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Caramel Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
we loved it! delicious and addictive, also very easy. Only difficulty, the spreading of the superior layer. But we'll have it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Rib Eye

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great fresh taste. Much better than the usual bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Ceschini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
we are going to keep this, it's basically a lemon bar with something more, that makes it less "homey" and even good to serve when you have company. I followed the directions to a T, but for the sugar over the top (it was way too much). The chocolate didn't melt completely, but we liked it that way as well. Next time I'm goimg to double the lemon layer, and see what happens: I'm sure it will add tartness and character to the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cream Pie II

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
quite good and quite easy. If you dare and want to give it a "frenchified" go, you can add a bit more salt into the crust (provided you make it yourself and don't use a bought one): and - voilà - you'll have a "caramel au burre salè" tart:-) I happened to do that by chance and the result was quite amazing. But it's a great recipe anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I agree with other comments, there are better crusts out there. But I am going to keep this recipe as well, because of course they are not made with oil, and this is definitely a plus! moreover, it is not messy at all: if you really want to keep it to a minimum effort, you don't need a bowl and a rolling pin either. I mean to try it again, making the kitchen robot do all the work; I think it will be more "smooth" and perhaps less sandy and grainy... also, if you plan to use this for a sweet pie, be careful of the amount of salt (I happened to use it on my first try with a caramel filling, and it was fortunate, I declared that I had a "caramel au burre salè" French pie in mind from the beginning, but it was so untrue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My little daughter especially loved it, so into teh recipe box it has to go. I wasn't enthusiastic about this recipe; I agree with others that the butter and sugar paste is definitely too much and makes for an unhealthy cake (I decided to cut on the sugar as the pineapple was not fresh but canned and they put enough sugar to make the syruo as it is). The result was beautiful due to the pineapple rings and candied cherry that come up on top after i's baked, but I had the problem of the sogginess and also of the sugar/butter/pineapple juice boiling over and overflowing while baking. All in all it's good, but it is made of good things (I mean, butetr, sugar, pineapple...): how could it not be? so, less sugar and less butter, and definitely no fat of any kind into the batter could be the answer for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kpbenner

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was really good and easy! I served it with Cajun chicken & asparagus with garlic bread. I didn't use Romano, just Parmesan & it turned out just fine (no Romano). Not quite like Italy but still on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpbenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Same day 70% Hydration Baguette (Joe xs Lovallo)

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I just love to make them all the time , my son cant wait to eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

Italian Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Tried this recipe last night and I found it to be incredibly dry and didn't have a good flavor. The time and temperature are accurate but it needs more liquid in the mixture, my husband said maybe more cheese of some sort would help. I think less breadcrumbs would help as well, it overpowered the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpbenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States