Finland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Traditional Russian Pirozhki

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good recipe. Followed to the letter and my wife, who was born in Russia, approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Flavorwise this was good, but next time I make it I will totally ommit the tomato sauce, and just add it when plating. That way the chicken will stay crispy but still get all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious:-)I made my own pie crust, and it was a little too greasy, so I kept them in the muffin pans for all of the time, and didn't take them out until serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenbaker98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teenbaker98

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I have used this recipe 3 times in the last two weeks, it is THAT good! I did a triple batch and split in two baking sheets for about 1-2 inch tall cakes, then filled them. It did get a bit burnt on the edges, while the middle was moist, so next time I may bake it at a lower temperature for a little longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenbaker98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is a really easy recipe! It also tasted delicious.:) I used 1.5% milk instead of evaporated, and it turned out great! I also made another batch, and mixed about 1/2cup un-whipped heavy cream, and whipped it all together until VERY fluffy- superb! All of my 6 siblings and my parents loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenbaker98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pie Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Crisp and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pilvitys
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Guite "stiff" resolt (thats why minus 1 star), but still so so so gooood! Everyone loved these. I sold these during a "restaurant day" today in Finnland, and I should have made three paches insted of one, they were so popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pilvitys
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
So goood!! I made this with my friend, and she loved it too. Recipe Went to my recipebox to be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pilvitys
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sally's Spinach Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
We enjoyed this. It seemed a little more fancy than your average mashed potato side with minimal effort. I added a little milk too to thin it a bit so it would be more friendly for our toddler. I think next time I will sautee the onions with the spinach before adding since it suits my taste better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simply Sensational Truffles

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
pure love. I would eat these every day if that didn't kill me :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
It would be helpful to list the approximate weight of "two large sweet potatoes" as size can vary a lot. I found the amount of powdered spice excessive for my "two large potatoes". In addition, the spice does not easily blend in with the oil and potatoes when prepared as directed. Combining the oil and spices in a bag or bowl BEFORE adding the potatoes would allow a more even distribution of spice. The paprika can definitely be reduced to a teaspoon or two as others have suggested--it does not add much flavor, only a lot of powder. The spice mixture is primarily spicy (not sweet and spicy) and we prefer other roasted potato recipes and spice combinations to this one. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crepes

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
good recipe. came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheese and Garlic Scones

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very good - texture like a biscuit. Used Havarti instead of cheddar because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Chicken and Orzo Salad In Red Pepper Cups

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was really, really good. I liked the dressing a lot. Didn't use red pepper cups, and added some fresh parsley from the garden. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was a very good recipe! I used strips of chuck steak and used much less fat free sour cream. my wife enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I got up with my husband this morning just to make him this smoothie and use up some of our fresh strawberries and bananas (didn't find that it was too runny with nothing frozen. The oats thicken it up I think). I used light soy milk and made sure to powder the oats first before adding the liquids (texture preference). I wasn't terribly precise in measuring the strawberries. I just put in a couple big scoops, maybe a cup and a half. No sugar was needed in addition to the main ingredients but I added the vanilla because I love it! I think I will start adding oatmeal to all my smoothies for health reasons. I could hardly taste it and it helped fill me up so I didn't overindulge. This made about 6dl of smoothie in my estimation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Sweet and refreshing. Great for peanut butter lovers looking for a more summery light treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crepes

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I lived in France for a year and used to eat crepes a lot! This tastes familiar and it's easy to make. So easy I've made it many times already. Versatile because you can add a bit of sugar and vanilla for sweet crepes or prepare it as is for a savory crepe. I don't think you MUST refrigerate the batter to make good crepes but it helps you quickly spread it in the pan for a thin crepe (as they are meant to be) before it heats up too much and starts to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robbi's M&M Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I used to use the toll house chocolate chip cookie recipes for M&M cookies. This was far better in my opinion because it seems to take int consideration better just how sweet M&Ms are. This is a more balance cookie, chewy but fluffy too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moussaka

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Really tasty and very fancy recipe that I made for company. There were 4 of us and there was plenty for dinner for two the next day plus my husband took some to work for lunch. I took the advice of whipping egg whites into the sauce and adding the yolks with the milk. I did not find that I had too much sauce. The dish came out a bit on the runny side the day it was made (it solidified in the fridge overnight) because I didn't get the chance to salt and dry out the eggplant before browning it. That's probably also why it required a bit more oil to brown in the pan. I'd like to try baking it next time. It didn't really have any negative effect on the taste though! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States