Guatemala - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by carolina87

Creamy Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I'd like to put half a star more though... It's just that with the orginal recipe and the 9 inch pan it was too thin..! The texture was perfect so I don't think I missed or passed on cooking or heat... I just added 4 oz more of cream cheese and 1/2 egg more. I also beat the eggwhites first, then the egg yolks and a little sugar, then alternately add the softened cheese and remaining sugar. Everyone loves it! Thanks for posting such a delicious creamy, rich recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolina87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala

Graham Crackers

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is just great for pie crusts!!! I used canola oil instead of shortening and they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolina87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala

Sourdough Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
My wife noticed the difference. For a moment I thought it was bad, but she said they were different good!! Good recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senor Arturo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Marsala

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I have made chicken marsala many times before but I never thought about doing it with pork. I followed the recipe closely. The only changes I made were that for the sake of time and mess I didn't pound the pork. I breaded it with a mix of whole wheat flour and regular flour. I cooked it at a low temp for a longer time so it would cook through. And at the end before putting the lid on it, I added fresh parsley and a little Parmesan cheese. It was great...thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
WARNING: REMEMBER THIS RECIPE YIELDS 60 COOKIES!!! You'll have to add 7 cups of dry ingredients to 1 1/2 lb of butter. I came to realize about this until my poor mixer was about to explode. So, I had to split in half the butter + sugar, and add to each portion, half of the rest of ingredients. I had to add more flour to the first half and ended up adding 1 more egg to the second half. Another great recipe ruined by me! :'( They still tasted great though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xibalba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles II

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is a great waffle recipe. I have tried not whipping the egg whites to save some time but it was just not the same. You can add anything to these waffles, if I don't add any berries or chocolate to them sometimes I add some sugar, it's really whatever you are in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was on Thanksgiving dinner and My family loved it! It was really easy thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
delicious! i've never made lasagna before. This was super easy to make and everyone in my family loved it! This one is definitely going to become a family recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Luis, El Petén, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chicken Soup II

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I really loved this soup! I did not have any rice but I had quick cook barley. I substituted one cup of rice for one cup of barley and it was perfect. The next day when I was having leftovers for lunch I had the soup with some avocado it was really yummy!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is a great recipe. I changed a few things because I just didn't have the fresh veggies on hand. So, I put in a bag of mixed frozen veggies, and for the rice I used two boil in bag brown rice bags. Lastly, I added garlic butter at the end to give it a little something extra. It came out awesome!!!!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is a really good recipe. My husband thought it was too sweet but he says that about pretty much everything. had to use coconut extract instead of vanilla, its all i had - but it worked. Next time, i'll add shredded coconut to the batter to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Luis, El Petén, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash and Spicy Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We loved this! Thanks for the recipe. I did, however, substitute potatoes for the rice. I will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIOGITI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mixco, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This recipe is super easy to make. My aunt and cousin came down from California and gave us this recipe. We all fell in love with it. I made it again for my other side of the family who i didn't think would be too fond of spinach dip - they ate all of it. Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Luis, El Petén, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Sugar Biscotti

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These biscotti were pretty good but i think they were missing a little something, everyone else that tried them loved them. I would make these again but next time i think i'll add chopped pecans or walnuts and maybe a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Luis, El Petén, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Filipino Lumpia

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This recipe was extremely simple to make - and very tasty. I used eggroll wrappers and added extra garlic & onion. My sister who usually doesn't care for meat, loved them. I would definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Luis, El Petén, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Flat Iron Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was an o.k recipe. I followed the directions exactly and we couldn't figure out the taste. We thought either it has too much mustard or I let it marinade too long (I put it to marinade in the morning and we didn't end up grilling it until the next day for lunch. I might try it again with less mustard or with prepared mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The chicken tasted good... just not very lemony. I cooked it breast side down so that the breast would not dry out and it did turn out nice. The only reason I did not give it five stars is because I was really expecting a more lemon taste but the chicken did have a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a really good chicken recipe. I was in a big hurry to get dinner on the table, I forgot to put the flour on the chicken before putting it on the skillet, I only had canned mushrooms, and still it was delicious!!!!! I did sprinkle some flour in the sauce to thicken it but I don't think it needed it. Also it cooked even faster using chicken tenders. I served it with pasta and the Italian peas...sooo good!!! Thanks for the post!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Peas

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
As far as peas goes..this is really good!!! It is very garlicy, so if you don't care for as much garlic just adjust it. I also only had canned peas on hand. I would suggest to puy them at the very last minute as to simply warm them in the mixture. I may have over stirred them but my kids didn't care and the taste was very good. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef with Sweet Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very good and easy recipe. I made it for my family one night I had to go out. I left rice for them too but instead they had it in crusty french bread. They melted swiss cheese on it and everybody really liked it!!! When I got home I had it with the rice and I thought that was good too. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 31) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States