Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Amazing! I love these cookies, they always come out nice and thick, although not too dense or heavy. I like to use 1 cup brown sugar instead and 3/4 cup peanut butter, in my opinion it gives it better flavor. Always a hit with our guests especially when I bake them with chocolate bar chunks on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was a solid recipe. I followed it almost exactly to the T-- with the exception being that I used spicy italian sausage rather than sweet & I sprinkled with parmesan when serving. It was very simple, but very tasty! We served over plain semolina pasta. My husband wasn't thrilled when he saw me cooking it, but was quick to comment that it was actually really yummy and a very pleasant surprise. This is a fabulous, nutritious, easy weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden

No Fail Pie Crust I

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Wow. WONDERFUL recipe. So simple and easy, but yields a fabulously flakey, tender trust. Such a delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden

Apple Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I have very mixed feelings about this recipe. I really enjoyed the flavour (the lemon zest adds a wonderful special something!)... but it was just so darn RUNNY! I followed the recipe exactly as written, and my pie turned out incredibly soupy. I used golden delicious apples, which are normally wonderful for baking with... Perhaps next time I just need to double the amount of flour the recipe calls for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

Mushroom Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I think it might have gone better with regular pastry rather than phyllo. Nothing wrong with it but with a mixture of gourmet mushrooms, heavy cream, fresh dill and Swiss cheese, it was not as good as anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
very good, next time I will add ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Love Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My family and friends thought this was okay. I thought it was good; rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Libby's® Famous Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Everything has already been said about this fantastic pie.. Nothing to add. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Coconut Loaf

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe except for adding cherries which I don't care for. I was a bit apprehensive of the almond extract, but the bread turned out tasty and moist. My loaf was done in under the hour recommended. This was a real treat, highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Disappointed. Followed the recipe exactly and found them salty and hard to put together. 11 minutes isn't enough time for the bulk of the cookie but any longer and the bottoms burn. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devoncarruthers

Cooking Level: Expert

Apple Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Had doubts while mixing it - the dough to apple ratio looked strange, all apple and hardly any batter. But it came out amazing, moist and delish. I did reduce the sugar since I live at 6000'. Will make this again, maybe with a sour apple like Granny Smith.Just noticed that GS apples are called for, I used Galas, which were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I absolutely loved this recipe. It was full of flavour. I left out the coconut flakes (not a huge fan) added an extra clove of garlic to the marinade. Followed directions perfectly and my chicken came out juicy on the inside and extra crispy on the outside! Cannot believe it was not fried. Served with brown rice and vegetables made an awesome healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Phoebe

Stuffed Pepper Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Lovely, the salsa taste really comes through so judge the spice level of salsa in it accordingly. Would probably add some fresh garlic and just put the rice in the soup mixture to cook next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I only gave it 3 stars due to the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
These were amazing! We served the chicken with couscous rice and boiled vegetables. It made for a great healthy dinner and the guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
After leaving these cookies to cool for two days they became tough and hard to chew, almost like a bar instead of a good cookie. The center was not as chewy as promised. The taste was excellent, however. 3/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
So simple and delicious! Why haven't I made this in the oven before? I usually steam, but this worked well tonight since I had potatoes and chicken in the oven. Just reduce the salt - a lot - I used maybe 1/4 tsp (a few twists of pink himalayan salt) and it was plenty as the cheese is salty. A drizzle of balsamic vinegar is fantastic if you don't have lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Wild Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Love this, although like others have mentioned, I changed the method. Threw the rice and broth into my rice cooker, dry toasted the almonds on the stove, and then threw everything in the rice once it was done. Stirred it all up and let it sit for a few minutes and voila - a side dish simple enough for a weeknight and elegant enough for an occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
LOL..this is my recipe...it should say 1/4 cup chicken stock...(not boulion), and 4 cloves of GARLIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Poetzschke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I loved the cookies when I tryed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeddDotsCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States