Melbourne - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and these came out perfectly fluffy and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CXI

Vegan Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I am sooooooooooo far from vegan but made these for my friend. First time making vegan anything, using coconut oil or even tasting almond milk. MY GOD!! These were the best cupcakes I've ever made. So simple yet they punch you in the face with perfection. If anything they were better the next day. Almost like a cheesecake texture. I read through the comments and stole someones idea for some icing as well and it was just a coconut orgasm. My friends mom tried them and wanted the recipe. No way! I'm going to be hanging this recipe over everyones head. If you want to eat it you must go through me first! :p This could almost turn me to the dark side (almost). Totally recommend to EVERYONE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CXI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by CXI

Shortcut Potato Onion Perogies

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
The only good thing about this recipe is obviously the dough. It's easy to make and is actually good. I did need to add a little more water though but that was about it. One of the easiest dough recipes I've dealt with and quick to make. I really don't see the use in using instant potatoes. I mean, it really doesn't take long to make them. So I did my own filling. But defiantly rate high for the easy dough alone and will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CXI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kiddie Holiday Juice

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very nice refreshing drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Giving it 5 stars as I couldn't fault it. Delicious with a blob of cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Found the sauce a little to salty but overall really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hunter Style Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Really enjoyed this dish, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delicious burgers, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gujarati Kadhi

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was very good and quick and easy to make. I cooked some okra in it and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Cabbage Borscht

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Been living in Russia for 10 years, and this was one of the best I've tried. There are several types of borsch - sweet or sour, tomato-ey or beet-ey. This is a beet-ey, sweet one which is just the type that I love. Tasted very authentic. I put in two medium sized beets (more than the recipe called for), and about 1.25L of broth (also more). I also added 350g of cubed beef. Simmered for about 4 hours. I would say it could about 4 people. No need to debate the merits of certain ingredients and whether they should or shouldn't be in a "real" borsch recipe. The end result is that this tastes exactly as borsch should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

Chocolate Chip Sourdough Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Followed recipe as given. These had a good flavour and once you stopped expecting them to have the texture of muffins they weren't bad. They are very dense and chewy, and more like a bread roll than a muffin, but the cinnamon with milk chocolate is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Drizzled Apple Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These turned out perfectly. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Apple Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very nice, although I would add 1/2 cup sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Chickpea Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Giving this 5 stars as its absolutely delicious. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
There was not enough chocolate in the recipe - the finished product bore no resemblance to the picture displayed! Cooking time was so very inadequate - at 35 minutes the very outsides of the cake were cooked but the inner 3/4 was still raw and wet. I have since made it again in a 23 x 28cm rectangle pan (line with foil/baking paper and spray with oil) without the boiling water but with the addition of 250grams choc chips, and by increasing the temperature and cooking time to 30 minutes at 175C then increasing to 200C for 10 minutes. Pour the icing on when still warm and leave overnight before slicing. The outsides of the cake will be light and cakey and the inner parts will be denser and "fudgier". These changes resulted in the cake being a hit at work - although it was still seen as overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Panko Crusted Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Beautiful way to prepare salmon. Really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Always a winner this one. I have made it several times. I prefer not to use the lattice crust and just put a normal pie crust on top after pouring the mixture and I baste with milk and sprinkle some sugar. I also cook it on a lower temp as I find it overbrowns otherwise. Thans for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poppy Seed Sweet Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Cross Buns

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
These were easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States