Sydney - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Cool Cucumber and Avocado Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Has a bit of an unusual taste with the curry powder for this type of salad. I really loved it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Roasted Acorn Squash Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This soup was delicious. Even the kids all wanted seconds. I used regular cream as I didn't have any half-and-half. Topped with chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Toasted Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Turned out perfectly - better than expected actually. I used Turkish bread rather than Italian as I had that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was so easy and turned out perfectly. I actually used self rising flour and a bit less sugar than recommended. I mixed the topping in the electric mixer. Very quick. Would be a good base recipe for different types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Banana Pancakes I

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
These are the best banana pancakes we've ever had! They are especially delicious with (real) maple syrup and vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Chickpea and Couscous Delight

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
1/4 of a teaspoon of both olive oil and vinegar just can't be right. I added an eighth of a cup and that worked pretty well. I also added some fresh herbs and olives (suggestions from other cooks). If I made it again, I'd probably use lemon juice in place of vinegar too. However, all in all it was a good base recipe and the couscous turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

French Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used the Alfredo sauce and kind of regretted it. Would have been better if I'd added marinara sauce as one of the other reviewers suggested. It tasted okay, but nothing to write home about. Mine also definitely didn't come out looking like the picture added by allrecipes.com. It looked a bit more like it before I added the Alfredo pasta sauce. I wouldn't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Old-Fashioned Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Delicious beef stew! I added celery into the vegetable mix and omitted the cornstarch step. The meat was tender and flavorful. Served on a bed of white rice, it was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Thai Ground Chicken Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
So quick and easy, and a great flavor! Will definitely be making this one again. I also added red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Red Potato Bites

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
A really great recipe that looked good as well as tasted good! My potatoes were a little hard so I put the potato centers into a food processor with the sour cream to soften them. End product was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Marinated for about eight hours and the final dish was delicious - very tasty! I would like to try it on other things too, such as chicken! Rather than peanut oil, I used olive oil. I did use the sesame oil though. I also had to cook it in the oven. Finished it off under the oven grill. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Carolyn's Oh-So-Easy Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I am absolutely crazy about cherries and as it is now the cherry season, this recipe falls well, that is it would if I knew what a buttermilk mix was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Picante-Glazed Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I can't buy Pace Picante Sauce, so had to find a recipe to make myself. Very good put into ice cube trays to use as wanted. My sauce was quite hot and the whole mix went well together. I don't have town gas, so try to avoid using oven. Finding someone who is willing to lug a 25kg bottle up two flights is not so easy. I fried the wings first and then finished them off in the sauce. I had some of the sauce left over and used it the next day as a base for a lamb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Anchovies

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and liked it very much. However I think one must be very careful to blend the anchovies and the lemon, so that neither one is predominant. I, although I love lemon, found it a little too present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Radishes

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Have tried this recipe using white radish but it was so-so. Don't think white radish tastes good oven baked unfortunately - found it to be somewhat lacking in flavour... will have to find another way of cooking white radish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I must admit I didn't follow all the instructions. As we have a TONNE of yellow lentils to use up, I put in just over double the amount in. Also we had no celery so put in extra carrot. It turned out more mushy than soupy. I think lentil recipes can also vary depending on the type of lentils put in, and putting a mix of lentils may have improved things...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tamarind and Orange Glazed Chicken

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Easy and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Potato With Rosemary Soup

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Nice soup - made it as described except used light milk - easy to make, tastes good. Next time I think I will try adding more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Spinach Pie with Pancetta

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Flavor was delicious. If I make it again, however, I think I'll stir a beaten egg through the mixture to make it stick together a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Watermelon Salsa

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very simple recipe. Hubby was giving me weird looks as I told him the ingredients to add, but then after tasting, couldn't stop him finishing the whole bowl!! Tastes very refreshing! I think some cucumber and coriander would go well as well. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States