Sydney - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Seafood Mocequa

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe - delicious and versatile. I adjusted the serving size to make more servings than people, and was glad I did as it was all eaten. Rather than shrimp and white fish, I used salmon pieces and baby octopus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Zesty Summer Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I thought it excellent. However I agree that there is very little juice to make the sauce. I had to add water to stop it from becoming a "goo". I did simmer it ( to cook the garlic, ginger and zest) a little, before adding the cornflour. My neighbour thought it delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Delicious Salmon

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Just as its name suggests, this recipe is delicious. I didn't have time to marinade the entire recommended 4 to 8 hours, so I just did a quick marinade and then broiled it with some of the marinade and it came out fantastic. Now my mouth is watering again just reviewing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Peas au Gratin

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I made it to the recipe, except that I used regular cheddar cheese, and used a bit more than in the recipe. I cooked it in little individual baking dishes and served it as a side dish, then sprinkled with green onion before serving. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Cool Cucumber and Avocado Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Has a bit of an unusual taste with the curry powder for this type of salad. I really loved it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Roasted Acorn Squash Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This soup was delicious. Even the kids all wanted seconds. I used regular cream as I didn't have any half-and-half. Topped with chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Toasted Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Turned out perfectly - better than expected actually. I used Turkish bread rather than Italian as I had that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was so easy and turned out perfectly. I actually used self rising flour and a bit less sugar than recommended. I mixed the topping in the electric mixer. Very quick. Would be a good base recipe for different types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Banana Pancakes I

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
These are the best banana pancakes we've ever had! They are especially delicious with (real) maple syrup and vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Chickpea and Couscous Delight

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
1/4 of a teaspoon of both olive oil and vinegar just can't be right. I added an eighth of a cup and that worked pretty well. I also added some fresh herbs and olives (suggestions from other cooks). If I made it again, I'd probably use lemon juice in place of vinegar too. However, all in all it was a good base recipe and the couscous turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

French Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I used the Alfredo sauce and kind of regretted it. Would have been better if I'd added marinara sauce as one of the other reviewers suggested. It tasted okay, but nothing to write home about. Mine also definitely didn't come out looking like the picture added by allrecipes.com. It looked a bit more like it before I added the Alfredo pasta sauce. I wouldn't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Old-Fashioned Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Delicious beef stew! I added celery into the vegetable mix and omitted the cornstarch step. The meat was tender and flavorful. Served on a bed of white rice, it was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Thai Ground Chicken Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
So quick and easy, and a great flavor! Will definitely be making this one again. I also added red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Red Potato Bites

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
A really great recipe that looked good as well as tasted good! My potatoes were a little hard so I put the potato centers into a food processor with the sour cream to soften them. End product was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Marinated for about eight hours and the final dish was delicious - very tasty! I would like to try it on other things too, such as chicken! Rather than peanut oil, I used olive oil. I did use the sesame oil though. I also had to cook it in the oven. Finished it off under the oven grill. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Easy Orange Duck

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I thought it was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carolyn's Oh-So-Easy Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I am absolutely crazy about cherries and as it is now the cherry season, this recipe falls well, that is it would if I knew what a buttermilk mix was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Picante-Glazed Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I can't buy Pace Picante Sauce, so had to find a recipe to make myself. Very good put into ice cube trays to use as wanted. My sauce was quite hot and the whole mix went well together. I don't have town gas, so try to avoid using oven. Finding someone who is willing to lug a 25kg bottle up two flights is not so easy. I fried the wings first and then finished them off in the sauce. I had some of the sauce left over and used it the next day as a base for a lamb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Anchovies

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and liked it very much. However I think one must be very careful to blend the anchovies and the lemon, so that neither one is predominant. I, although I love lemon, found it a little too present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Radishes

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Have tried this recipe using white radish but it was so-so. Don't think white radish tastes good oven baked unfortunately - found it to be somewhat lacking in flavour... will have to find another way of cooking white radish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States