Osaka - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This could not have been easier to make! It was the first time I'd ever cooked with lamb, but I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Yum! I used oven-ready lasagna noodles, so the prep was really quick and easy. I subbed spinach for the green peppers, and put a little salt & pepper in the cheese mixture, but those were my only changes. It was perfect--satisfying, saucy, and cheesy. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Yum yum YUM! This is one of the best homemade cupcake recipes I've ever tried. They turned out nice and moist, with a great devil's food flavor. This one's a keeper! :^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Absolutely delish! We always have leftover brown rice in the fridge, and this is a perfect fit :-) I had to sub skim milk and cashews because that's all I had on hand, and I didn't have any cardamom either. Even short on ingredients, it was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Delicious! I didn't change a thing. Easy to make, and extremely satisfying on a cold Winter day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Root Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wow, this was GREAT! I couldn't get celery root, but it was wonderful just the same. I subbed skim milk for the half-&-half and chicken broth for the vegetable broth because that's all I had on hand. At the end, I added about 1/3 cup orange juice and some nutmeg to taste. A tasty way to warm up a chilly Autumn day :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe couldn't be easier or tastier! I made it exactly according to the recipe, and it was a snap. The results were tender and flavorful, and the house smelled great from the slow cooker! I'll definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Oh my gosh, these are wonderful!! I substituted whole wheat flour for all 4 3/4 cups, and brown sugar for half of the sugar. I would actually probably cut down on the sugar by a cup next time, as these are pretty dang sweet; but YUM! I'll make these again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutritious Lentil Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I found this recipe to be a really good base for a lentil salad, with plenty of room for customization. I added a cucumber as suggested by other reviewers, as well as a package of mixed beans (prepared for salad). I also reduced the amount of green olives. Fresh parsley would also be a great addition! Tasty and healthy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spring Lime Tea Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
These are great! Very soft and easy to make. Because some of the reviews said that these lose flavor after a day or so, I added lime zest to the glaze as well. I also made the glaze with confectioner's sugar instead of granulated, just because I had some on hand. I served these at a June baby shower, and the guests LOVED them. Their refreshing flavor was a hit, and there were none left at the end of the party :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butterscotch Brownies III

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is the first time I've ever tried making butterscotch brownies, and I'm pretty happy with them. They came out nice and chewy, with a good flavor. I left out the nuts because I didn't have any. As other reviewers have mentioned, the frosting makes these super-sweet, so keep a glass of milk or a cup of coffee on hand! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamaican Beef Patties

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Very tasty & toasty! These are a really good option for a simple meal or snack on chilly days. The dough ended up being bit greasy for my taste, but I loved the spicy flavor. I substituted ground chicken for the beef, and added some frozen mixed veggies. I was surprised how satisfying and flavorful these turned out to be with such simple ingredients. With the exception of the meat, these are made with things I almost always have on hand. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lupusliz

Peanut Butter Brownies II

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Out of this world!!! Two modifications: 1) I left out the chocolate chips; and 2) I subbed oil for the butter (a little bit less than the amount of butter called for). Rich, gooey, and the perfect balance of peanut butter and chocolate. Plus, the marbling looks so pretty! These hit the spot like nothing else when you really need a peanut-butter-chocolate fix. If I don't eat the whole pan tonight, it will be a miracle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Apple Curry

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Delish! I gave this one 5 stars because it was so easy, quick, and tasty. I didn't have any good curry powder on hand so I replaced it with 1 Tbsp of garam masala, plus a couple shakes of cinnamon & nutmeg. Also, instead of baking the chicken pieces whole in the sauce, I just cut up the raw chicken and added it to the saucepan right after the onions, and sauteed them together in the butter, adding the apples soon after. In other words, everything in one pot :-) I feel like the butter and most of the flour could be left out and it would be just as tasty, with only marginal change to the texture. I left everything in this time though, because I knew my sweetie would like it :-) We ate it with brown rice and a side of frozen peas. Four thumbs up! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Lemon Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Holy moly, was this ever GOOD! I made the recipe with homemade chicken stock, and it was out of this world! I can't believe something so easy can taste so good--and it hardly takes any time at all to make. I left out the rice because I didn't have any on hand, and is still just great. This might be my new favorite chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

West African Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yum! I love all the healthy veggies in this. Such a great way to get lots of nutrients! I subbed garlic powder to taste because i didn't have any fresh garlic on hand, and I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of a fresh tomato because they were expensive and small at the market. Last, I added some simple pork meatballs because my DH claims he "won't feel full" if there's not meat in a dish--ugh. BUT, this stew recipe can stand on its own, as-is. I gave it 5 stars because I was so impressed that such a small amount of seasoning could produce such flavorful results. The flavors of the spinach & sweet potato really shine, with the raisins as delicious little treats sprinkled throughout. We ate this over white rice, and it made a great winter meal :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Wonderful! This is pretty much exactly how my grandma used to make pie crust. I made this with butter as the shortening, and used it in a chicken pot pie. Yum! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Check the 'most helpful' reviews, because they give some great tips! I added cubed potatoes to the veggies, and boiled the veggies & chicken with a little chicken bouillon. I reserved the cooking liquid & used it in place of the chicken broth called for in the recipe; you could augment the liquid with chicken broth if you don't have enough. I just thought it was a shame to waste the cooking broth. I also doubled the gravy recipe and substituted garlic powder for celery seed, which I normally don't have on hand. I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe, and the whole thing came together really nicely. Very tasty & comforting, plus fairly economical :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Outstanding! Be sure to use brown sugar & powdered sugar in addition to the white sugar, just as the first couple of reviews suggest. I was never a big fan of this cookie when I was growing up, because my family makes them with flour; but they're my boyfriend's favorite, so I gave them a try. This flour-less version is just wonderful! Nice, moist & chewy instead of dry and flavorless. They're great even if you run out of chocolate kisses (like I did!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yukako

Bananas 'N' Cream Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I baked this cake. it's realy easy to make. I chenge Sour cream. I used Yogurt. I cut off yogurt water . It's my first time to make bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yukako

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

Displaying results 1-20 (of 69) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States