China - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is REALLY easy to make, and it's fairly easy to work with. I couldn't get it to roll out right on its own so I rolled it between two sheets of wax paper. My kitchen is kind of hot so before I put the fondant on, I popped it in the freezer till it was more firm. As far as the flavor, I liked that it took salt since that gave it a little more taste than pure sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyrlys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

Aunt Kate's Strawberry Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I didn't add anything to the recipe, because all the complaints were that it was too dense and that didn't bother me. It is very bread-like, but the flavor was quite good. Not super strong flavors, which to me is a positive since you can add frosting without making it too sweet. The one thing about the cake itself is that it has a bit of a weird color. You might be able to add food coloring to help, but I haven't tried so no idea. The frosting was ok, but not great. As a filling, I used the extra mashed strawberries I had and cooked them with some cornstarch. I felt like this gave a more strawberry flavor to the overall cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyrlys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Simple and effective! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy to Remember Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I always forget the ratio and have to look up a recipie every time. Thanks for making it easy to remember!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This turned out excellent and is the easiest pie filling to make! I didn't have any corn starch, so I just used all-purpose flour instead and it still turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpnewberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made this pie Thanksgiving 2012 - my first Apple pie.. it was stupendous!!! I impressed all of our guests and it was definitely a confidence boost for my kitchen skills. My daughter keeps asking for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I didn't have vermicilli, crab meat or canned mushrooms (I used fresh). I used rice wrappers and was able to get into a groove rolling but the first few were not so great. When I put them into the frying pan, they all pretty much exploded, towards the end I double wrapped a few but didn't help. The taste was delicious but they were messy and technically I don't think I could call them a "roll" of any type. Next time I think I will cook the pork and all the ingredients in a frying pan so that they cook together THEN roll it up and bake the wraps in the oven.. I am hoping this works better and eliminates some grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mini Quiche

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I first made these for my 2012 Holiday party - they were a hit! I even remade them on Christmas morning because they were so yummy and easy. Now I make them all of the time - for picnics, for a quick breakfast on school days (the night before) -- love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made these Valentines Day 2013 - delicious and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Giblet Gravy II

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Mafde this Thanksgiving 2012 - delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I don't have a slow cooker so I do this stove top. I used this as a starter recipe. I also season the broth with rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Last year (2012) I used this recipe and made over 500 cookies for my children's classmates and our holiday party - - SO SIMPLE! ... and delicious. I plan to use this again this year; and every time I need sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Love this recipe. I first made this in 2005, my first cheescake of any kind and it is so simple and delicious! When we lived in the states I made it every Thanksgiving.. with cream cheese being so expensive in China, we are missing it so. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Crust Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this as a result of only having bread flour and noot wanting a dense crust; So glad I did! My husband said he never wants it any other way and my 10 y/o son agreed. It was also a hit at our Thanksgiving potluck - I'm glad it's SO EASY to throw together. I did make a few changes to accommodate what I had in the kitchen - I substituted whipping cream for the evaporated milk, added a little extra nutmeg and cinnamon for that special pumpkin pie taste and also more brown sugar than white and only 3 eggs... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I added a little more of the spices than called for and reduced the oil to 1/2 cup. I also added 3/4 cup raisins and a sugar/cinnamon glaze onto the top. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpnewberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
High Fat and very oily. Where's the healthy diet? The taste is ok but it's too oily I can't handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoannasMultiverse
Home Town: Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China
Living In: South Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Niki's Famous Crawfish Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was awesome! I didn't add the salt but did add a few green onions. This seems too simple to be so good, but just try it and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Focaccia Recipe

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This recipe is so fast and easy and it always comes out great! You can experiment by adding herbs and spices to the dough and on top of the bread before baking. Great with pastas, salads and as a sandwich bread! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpnewberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I tried to make it yesterday,it turned out delicious! Thanks for this amazing recipe in the hot summer...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flaskpankaka (Swedish Pork Pancake)

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This is the best __________ I have ever made!!! Outrageously AMAZING... Do not change the recipe at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Xiamen, Fujian Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States