Beijing (Municipality) - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pineapple Puffs

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These tasted really great, but fell apart really easily. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned so maybe that was my problem. But everyone loved the taste, so I'd do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alawight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Valentine's Day Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are really good. I was lazy and didn't put the strawberries on top and instead sprinkled them with red and white sugar crystal sprinkles. Everyone was surprised at how good strawberries taste in a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alawight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pear Honey

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious. I didn't have enough pineapple juice so I added some lemonade to the recipe to keep the pears from browning. It worked well. I also blended the pears after about 1 hour of cooking to speed things along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alawight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I cooked this for my roommates and we all really enjoyed it. I followed the other reviewers' recommendations and doubled the sauce recipe. I did not double the corn starch and thought that my sauce was adequately thickened. I also did not add the Chinese five-spice powder because I didn't have any. I heated up some frozen stir-fry veggies and served the chicken and the veggies over brown rice. I will definitely be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I baked this recipe for 240 of my students. They loved it. However I thought it was a little dry. When I made it again (just one cake this time) I added a package of instant vanilla pudding and about half of cup extra milk. This made it very moist. It is a very simple recipe and was a great way to introduce baking to my students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alawight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jif® Peanut Butter Blossoms

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This has always been my favorite cookie recipe growing up but now I live in China and Hershey Kisses are extremely expensive. I have found that using the chocolate/peanut butter swirl peanut butter (we have Skippy brand in China) instead of regular peanut butter gives the chocolate taste of the Hershey Kiss without it. DELICIOUS! I know I will be making these cookies this way for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alawight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Beany. Next time I want more chocolate flavor. I think I'll increase the coffee and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smuni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light, Crisp Waffles

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I was going half crazy trying to find a waffle recipe that would come close to the crispy, light German waffles I used to devour at my friends' houses in Berlin... this one cut it! I only had regular milk, so I doubled the recipe (highly recommend it) and made it one cup of milk, one cup of water (water tends to make waffles crispier). It worked great for us- thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APinkPanther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
The sauce was light--but not on flavor. I'll add more red peppers next time to make them stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smuni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Pound Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Pretty good, but never turns out as white and fluffy as in the photos. First time I made it, ended up overbaking when I followed the directions & went 80 min--didn't burn it, but the cake was light brown in color; tasted ok, but had to throw most of it out, since it was unpresentable. Tried it a second time, figuring my oven was hot; lowered temp to 310 and cooked for less than 60 min--this was more than enough time in my oven! Was sort of a yellower version of that pictured. Very delicious; not really like the dense pound cake sold in stores, but a light and rich cake that was well appreciated by everyone at work nonetheless. I pitted and added fresh cherries in addition to the marascinos from a can, and it was quite colorful. Tasted great with whipped cream on top, and hot cocoa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Curry Thai for Kings

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was pretty good, and pretty easy to make. I made it with pork instead of chicken, and it turned out great, though I'd recommend cooking the pork in a separate wok first, with the garlic & oil. I also added potatoes to this, which I think worked out great, just make sure you boil the potatoes first to even out the cooking time. I'm not a fan of eating bits of ginger, so I put in 5 very large slices, and fished them out later. I also used fish sauce instead of salt, much more authentic. And I'm confused by previous reviewsthat said they had to cut down on the spiciness; this was actually very mild curry, by any standard (wusses! LOL... either that or a huge variation in different brands of prepared green curry pastes). I had to add in some fresh chopped hot peppers & ground pepper to really get it going. I'm not a frequent cook, so it was a welcome relief to have such a simple recipe turn out so good; made lots and shared with others in my building, who loved it too; and then froze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Fried Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Overall, pretty good fried rice. I think the cilantro is what makes it; this is also what my mom likes to add in hers. I went all out and also chopped up some leftover lobster meat, for that extra bit of color & class. A dash of fish sauce and white pepper, along with some semi-hot peppers, gave it an extra zing that the original recipe lacked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States